Resources (show|hide descriptions)
中國科學文獻數據庫 = Chinese Science Document Database (1983-2001)
Provides citations and abstracts to the science and technology literature published in China. Sources include over 1,800 periodicals, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports and dissertations. Most records in the database are bilingual, with title, author, source, and subject searchable in both Chinese and English.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Academic Search Premier
[Fulltext]
A multi-disciplinary database which covers 4,500 publications, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for about 100 journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Blackwell Synergy (1997-) (Note: Merged with Wiley Interscience on July 1, 2008)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to the full-text of over 1,100 journals published by Blackwell Publishing. Coverage is mainly in the fields of life and physical sciences, medicine, business and economics, and social sciences and humanities, but some engineering journals are also included.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Cambridge Journals Online
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 200 titles published by the Cambridge University Press.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Databases
Provides access to over 30 different databases in the fields of science, engineering, humanities and social sciences. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Conference Papers Index (1982-)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers
physics, engineering and materials science. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
CrossRef
[Open Access]
Is a citation linking service based on DOI (Digital Object Identifier) standards. It provides access to millions of citations and abstracts of articles from over 1,600 scholarly and professional publishers. Full-text is only available for open access content or for those resources to which the Library has a subscription.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
[Fulltext]
Covers the fundamental principles, theories, and methodologies of nanoscience and nanotechnology
as well as their applications in materials and surface science, mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering, computer technology, chemistry, biomedicine, and many other areas. The database contains over 300 articles, nearly 4,000
pictures, illustrations, and tables, plus more than 21,000 references.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Ebrary
[Fulltext]
Contains 4,400 ebooks from leading publishers in a wide variety of subject areas. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported. Users have to install a plug-in program once. During each session, users can print up to 20 pages per book, subject to a maximum of 40 pages.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EBSCO Animals
This title is no longer available. See Primary Search.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
EBSCOhost Research Databases
[Fulltext]
Consists of seventeen databases which provide access to the full text/images of a large collection of journals, magazines, reports, and newspapers in various disciplines. Cross searching among the databases is allowed. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (1985-)
[Fulltext]
Provides indexes and detailed abstracts of environmental impact statements issued by the U.S. Federal Government. Topics include air transportation, defense programs, energy hazardous substances, land use, parks, refuges, and forests, research and development, roads and railroads, urban and social programs and water. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
FirstSearch
A collection of research databases maintained by Online Catalog Library Center (OCLC) in the United States. At present, the Library provides access to 10 FirstSearch databases covering topics in the science and technology, business, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Examples of these databases include AGRICOLA, Arts & Humanities Search, Business & Indusry and WorldCat. WorldCat contains over 30 million records of books and other materials from thousands of libraries worldwide. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Google Scholar
[Open Access]
Is a Google search engine specifically for scholarly literature, e.g., peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities, etc. It automatically analyzes citations and includes them in search results. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
GreenFILE
[Fulltext]
Provides over 384,000 citations and abstracts to environment-related literature, and more than 4,700 open access full-text documents. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and lots more. An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Biology and Biochemistry
IOS Press
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 70 journals published by IOS Press. Subjects covered are mostly in science and engineering, but some business and humanities and social sciences titles are also included.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Journal Citation Reports on CD-ROM (Science ed.) (1994-2001)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within
their subject categories. The database covers 5,700 leading international science and
engineering journals. Users can filter the journals by subject and then sort them by
impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal
title. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Journal Citation Reports on the Web (2002-)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. The Science edition covers 6,300 leading international science and
engineering journals. The Social Sciences edition covers 1,800 leading business and social
sciences journals. Users can filter the journals by subject and then sort them by impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal title.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
JSTOR
[Fulltext]
Offers the full-text of over 200 core journals in 24 disciplines going back to their first issues. As an archival database, issues of recent 3-5 years are not available. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
MyiLibrary
[Fulltext]
It provides access to 4,425 e-books published from 2006-2009. The titles cover a broad range of humanities and social sciences subjects. About 760 science and technology titles are also included. Users can browse by subject, publisher
and title or search the full-text of the books.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science
NetLibrary
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to 42,000 ebooks in a
wide range of disciplines: business, humanities, social sciences, science and engineering. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows note-taking. The contents of the books can be saved or printed page by page. Users can print up to 15 pages in one session.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
NIST Data Gateway
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data that covers a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. Also includes links to selected free online NIST databases. One can search by keywords, properties and substances across a collection of NIST databases.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
NTIS (1964-)
[Open Access]
The largest official source for U.S. government-sponsored information in the fields of science, engineering, business and social sciences. More than 600,000 records covering publications, technical reports, and multimedia files are searchable.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
OAIster
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides free access to 23 million digital scholarly resources, such as books, journal articles, technical reports, preprints, theses, working papers, audio files, images, etc. harvested from over 1,100 institutions worldwide.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Ovid Databases
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Journals
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 190 journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Scholarship Online
[Fulltext]
Contains over 1,800 e-books in a variety of subjects with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Both browsing and full-text keyword searching are supported.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest
[Fulltext]
Is a web-based service which provides users with seamless access to a large collection of citations and full-text/images of periodicals, magazines and newspapers in medical research, telecommunications and computer science, applied and general sciences, business, humanities and social sciences. Cross searching among the 21 databases is permissible. Emailing or downloading of full-text articles is also supported. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Management of Organizations, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (1861-)
Previously called ProQuest Digital Dissertations, the database contains over 2 million citations and abstracts to doctoral dissertations and master's theses accepted by 1,000 universities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Hong Kong, and other regions. It also provides 24-page previews of dissertations/theses published since 1997. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards. Free download of full-text image files is only restricted to business dissertations worldwide and HKUST PhD dissertations. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Science Citation Index (1980-1999)
Provides bibliographic information to articles in more than 3,200 science periodicals. Abstracts are available starting from 1994. This database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, address, article title, journal title and cited author/reference. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) (1991-)
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 6,300 international science and engineering journals. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ScienceDirect (2000-)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to 1,800 full-text journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates, including Academic Press, North-Holland and Pergamon. ScienceDirect has extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine. It also contains many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities. Over 400 e-books published in 2008 are also available. The database supports both full-text searching and browsing by title or broad subject areas.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scirus
[Open Access]
Searches over 200 million science-specific Web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data, including peer-reviewed articles, patents, preprints, technical reports, etc. It incorporates both subscription and open access full-text scholarly literature such as arXiv.org, BioMed Central, Cogprints, government patent servers, Medline and NASA technical reports.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scitopia.org: Integrated Trusted Science & Technology Research
[Open Access]
A federated search portal to the digital libraries of 15 leading physical science and technology societies, e.g., IEEE, AIAA, AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, OSA and more. One can search over 3 million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content, conference papers, patents, government documents, spanning 150 years of science and technology. Search results automatically take the users to the full-text articles if the source is subscribed to by the user library or freely available on the Internet.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scopus (1966-)
Provides bibliographic information and
abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals,
750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade
publications from over 4,000 international
publishers. Subject coverage includes science,
engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The
database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Most records in Scopus are linked to the corresponding original articles at the publishers' web sites. Full-text access is limited to the
publications for which the Library has an electronic subscription. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
SpringerLink
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of 1,388 journals published by Springer, Kluwer, and Brill. Subjects covered include not only the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) fields, but also business, humanities and social sciences.
In addition, over 11,000 full-text ebooks published by Springer since 1997 are also available. Full-text access is limited to those titles purchased by the Library.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Economics, Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Testing & Education Reference Center
[Fulltext]
Comprises 6 sections: High School Tools, College Prep Tools, Career Tools, Graduate School Tools, International and Family College Planning Center which provide extensive career and education-related information in North America. Some unique resources are Resume Builder, Virtual Career Library (Under Career Tools--> Research Careers), Graduate School Search, Graduate Scholarship Search, and online practice tests and ebooks for TOEFL, GRE, GMAT, LSAT and many other graduate/college entrance examinations. Users need to create an account in TERC to access certain features such as viewing e-books and taking practice tests.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Web of Science (1991-)
Provides web access to Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. The former covers 6,300 international science and engineering journals. The latter covers 1,800 social science and business journals worldwide. In addition to bibliographic information and abstracts, these two indexes also contain the references cited in the articles. The database can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Electronic Major Reference Works (Wiley eMRWs)
[Fulltext]
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Interscience
[Fulltext]
Provides integrated access to the full-text of over 1,100 journals published by Blackwell Publishing as well as citations and abstracts of hundreds of journals, reference works, and books published by John Wiley & Sons.
Full-text access to Wiley publications is restricted to 450 journals, 380 books and 10 major reference works for which the Library has a subscription.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
last updated: 6-Feb-2010 - 15:40:26
Links Engine 2.0 By: Gossamer Threads Inc.
© HKUST Library