> Alphabetical Listing
Resources (show|hide descriptions)
中國科學文獻數據庫 = Chinese Science Document Database (1983-2001)
Provides citations and abstracts to the science and technology literature published in China. Sources include over 1,800 periodicals, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports and dissertations. Most records in the database are bilingual, with title, author, source, and subject searchable in both Chinese and English.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
中華人民共和國國家知識產權局: 專利檢索
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides full images of an extensive amount of Chinese patents published since the 1980's, in tiff file format. In order to view the full patents, users are required to install a special viewer available under 說明書瀏覽器下載. Use of IE is recommended.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Academic Search Premier
[Fulltext]
A multi-disciplinary database which covers 4,500 publications, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for about 100 journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Aerospace & High Technology Database (1962-)
Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in related fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodicals, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.
A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
AGRICOLA (1970-)
An online database of the materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions. It indexes over 3.5 million records of books, periodicals, audio-visual and other materials on the subject of agriculture and related topics including animal science, entomology, food science, forestry, human nutrition, natural resources, plant diseases, insect pests and their control, rural sociology, and veterinary medicine. More than 800 periodicals are covered. A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
arXiv.org e-Print archive
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
One of the most innovative and successful experiments to date in scholarly communication. First developed in 1991 by the Los Alamos National Laboratories, the arXive-print server was the first successful automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers in physics and related disciplines: mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Physics
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (1971-)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on the science, technology, and management of brackish, marine, and freshwater environments. Sources include over 5,000 periodicals, as well as books, technical reports, and conference proceedings. The database corresponds to the five printed Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts: Biological Sciences & Living Resources; Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources; Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality; Aquaculture Abstracts; and Marine Biotechnology Abstracts. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
ASTM Standards on Disc (2009 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains the full-images of the 12,000 standards published by the American Society For Testing & Materials. Users can search by standard number as well as words in the title or the abstract. The retrieved full documents, which are in PDF format, can be printed, saved, or emailed as an attachment.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Biological Abstracts (1991-2000)
Biological Sciences (1982-)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology,
ecology, as well as agriculture and veterinary science. Sources include over 6,000 periodicals, as well as conference proceedings, technical
reports, monographs, books, and patents. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Biology Digest (1989-)
This title is no longer available.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
BioMed Central
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Offers online publishing of research articles in all areas of biomedical research with full peer review and barrier-free access for all. All original articles are published in one of the BioMed Central journals as well as being posted without delay on PubMed Central and indexed in PubMed.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
BIOSIS Previews (2001-2005)
BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts (1991-2005)
Provides combined access to Biological Abstracts (BA) and BIOSIS Previews, giving citations and abstracts to the worldwide research literature on all areas of life sciences. BA indexes 5,200 journals from 1991 to 2000. BIOSIS Previews covers the same journals from 2001-2005. In addition, BIOSIS Previews also indexes reviews, books, patents, as well as meeting and conference papers from over 1,500 meetings. An OVID database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Blackwell Synergy (1997-) (Note: Merged with Wiley Interscience on July 1, 2008)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to the full-text of over 1,100 journals published by Blackwell Publishing. Coverage is mainly in the fields of life and physical sciences, medicine, business and economics, and social sciences and humanities, but some engineering journals are also included.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
British Standards Online
[Fulltext]
Provides access to standards published by the British Standards Institution. Full-text is available for selected library subscribed modules.
The five subscribed modules are: Construction in general; Building materials and components; Building installations and finishing; Civil engineering; and Historical standards.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Cambridge Journals Online
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 200 titles published by the Cambridge University Press.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Databases
Provides access to over 30 different databases in the fields of science, engineering, humanities and social sciences. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Chemical Abstracts on CD-ROM (1987-2005)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature in all areas of biochemistry, chemistry and chemical engineering. Sources include over 9,000 journals, as well as patents, technical reports, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry
Combined Chemical Dictionary
[Fulltext]
Covers all 500,000 compounds contained in Champion and Hall's Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, and Dictionary of Drugs. Information provided for each compound includes its systematic and common names; structure diagrams; chemical, physical and biological properties; and literature references. The database's software enables searching structure graphically and viewing both chemical diagrams and textual information. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Conference Papers Index (1982-)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers
physics, engineering and materials science. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
CrossRef
[Open Access]
Is a citation linking service based on DOI (Digital Object Identifier) standards. It provides access to millions of citations and abstracts of articles from over 1,600 scholarly and professional publishers. Full-text is only available for open access content or for those resources to which the Library has a subscription.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
[Fulltext]
Is an authoritative manual of laboratory methods in molecular biology research. It includes
chapters on protein analysis, DNA sequencing, preparation of DNA and RNA, immunology, polymerase chain reaction, and much more. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry
[Fulltext]
Provides step-by-step laboratory procedures for the synthesis, modification, purification, analysis, and utilization of nucleic acids. It includes everything from the basic fundamentals of lab work to the most cutting-edge methods. All protocols have been contributed by leading investigators in the field. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
[Fulltext]
Covers the fundamental principles, theories, and methodologies of nanoscience and nanotechnology
as well as their applications in materials and surface science, mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering, computer technology, chemistry, biomedicine, and many other areas. The database contains over 300 articles, nearly 4,000
pictures, illustrations, and tables, plus more than 21,000 references.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Ebrary
[Fulltext]
Contains 4,400 ebooks from leading publishers in a wide variety of subject areas. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported. Users have to install a plug-in program once. During each session, users can print up to 20 pages per book, subject to a maximum of 40 pages.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EBSCO Animals
This title is no longer available. See Primary Search.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
EBSCOhost Research Databases
[Fulltext]
Consists of seventeen databases which provide access to the full text/images of a large collection of journals, magazines, reports, and newspapers in various disciplines. Cross searching among the databases is allowed. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (1985-)
[Fulltext]
Provides indexes and detailed abstracts of environmental impact statements issued by the U.S. Federal Government. Topics include air transportation, defense programs, energy hazardous substances, land use, parks, refuges, and forests, research and development, roads and railroads, urban and social programs and water. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
[Fulltext]
Is a multi-volume work written and edited by global authorities in the field. Comprising approximately 200 substantial articles, the encyclopedia provides detailed, expert coverage of the subject.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Civil Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
[Fulltext]
This reference work features over 3,900 peer-viewed articles across the life sciences. Topics include biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution and diversity of life, functional and comparative morphology, genetics and disease, genetics and molecular biology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, plant science, science and society, structural biology, and virology. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
[Fulltext]
Corresponds to the 16 volume print edition of the encyclopedia. It is the primary reference tool for those working in the areas of statistics, quality control, economics, probability, and statistics as well as those applying statistical methods in almost any discipline. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Engineered Materials Abstracts (1986-)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the science, development and production of ceramics, polymers and composite materials. Over 1,600 sources including journals, technical reports, patents, dissertations, books and conference proceedings are abstracted. The database is updated monthly and about 12,000 abstracts are collected annually. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (1965-)
Provides abstracts to the worldwide literature covering all aspects of the environmental sciences. Subject coverage includes air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations. The database is updated monthly and over 76,000 abstracts are collected annually. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Civil Engineering, Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry, Science->Chemistry
Esp@cenet (Europe's Network of Patent Databases)
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Are maintained by the European Patent Office. The databases provide bibliographic information, abstracts, and full text/images of US patents, British patents, French patents, German patents, Swiss patents, and patent applications published by the European Patent Office and the World Intellectual Property Office. Bibliographic information and abstracts of Chinese and Japanese patents, and bibliographic information of patents from over 50 other countries are also available.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
FirstSearch
A collection of research databases maintained by Online Catalog Library Center (OCLC) in the United States. At present, the Library provides access to 10 FirstSearch databases covering topics in the science and technology, business, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Examples of these databases include AGRICOLA, Arts & Humanities Search, Business & Indusry and WorldCat. WorldCat contains over 30 million records of books and other materials from thousands of libraries worldwide. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Geobase (1980-)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on the earth sciences. Sources include over 2,000 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations. A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry
Google Patent Search (1790-)
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Covers the entire collection of U.S. issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO. Images of the patents can be downloaded as PDF files.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Google Scholar
[Open Access]
Is a Google search engine specifically for scholarly literature, e.g., peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities, etc. It automatically analyzes citations and includes them in search results. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
IEEE Xplore
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of over 6,700 periodicals, conference proceedings, as well as standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). It is the online version of IEEE/IEE Electronic Library. Most documents are dated from 1988, but archival documents dated as far back as 1954 are also available. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Science->Science->Physics
INSPEC and INSPEC Archive (1898-)
Provides citations and abstracts to literature dealing with physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and information technology. Sources include over 4,200 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books and reports. This database is supported by IEEE Xplore, which provides the full-text images of the IEEE/IEE publications indexed in INSPEC. An OVID database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
Instant Gloves + CPC Database (1995 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains over 10,000 chemical test records on hundreds of chemicals, providing breakthrough times and permeation rates for hundreds of chemical protective clothing (CPC) products on the market. Reference sources and manufacturer contact information of the products are also included.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
IOS Press
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 70 journals published by IOS Press. Subjects covered are mostly in science and engineering, but some business and humanities and social sciences titles are also included.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Journal Citation Reports on CD-ROM (Science ed.) (1994-2001)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within
their subject categories. The database covers 5,700 leading international science and
engineering journals. Users can filter the journals by subject and then sort them by
impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal
title. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Journal Citation Reports on the Web (2002-)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. The Science edition covers 6,300 leading international science and
engineering journals. The Social Sciences edition covers 1,800 leading business and social
sciences journals. Users can filter the journals by subject and then sort them by impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal title.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
JSTOR
[Fulltext]
Offers the full-text of over 200 core journals in 24 disciplines going back to their first issues. As an archival database, issues of recent 3-5 years are not available. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
[Fulltext]
Is the online version of the multi-volume reference work, covering properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical materials, theory and practice of chemical engineering, current research, and emerging technologies. Environmental, health and economic concerns are also addressed. All articles are preceded by abstracts. It supports both browsing and searching. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Knovel
[Fulltext]
Offers full-text access to over 1,500 titles in 19 handbook collections across the engineering and science subjects. These include: Adhesives, Coating, Sealants & Inks, Aerospace & Radar Technology, Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology, Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering & Construction Materials, Earth Sciences, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, Environment & Environmental Engineering, Food Science, General Engineering and Engineering Management, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Metals & Metallurgy, Oil & Gas Engineering, Plastics & Rubber, Safety & Industrial Hygiene. The database supports browsing by book title as well as full-text searching.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Engineering->Civil Engineering, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Engineering->Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry, Science->Chemistry
MathSciNet (1940-)
Provides citations and reviews to international literature in mathematics and related areas. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, and books. It is composed of two subfiles: Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, the former is updated monthly and the latter is updated daily.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Metadex (1966-)
Provides abstracts to the worldwide technical literature covering all aspects of metallurgical science and technology, especially properties, processing, products and material development. Sources include journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, reports, books and dissertations. The database is updated monthly and about 38,500 abstracts are collected annually. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
MicroPatent Materials Patents (1996-)
This title is no longer available.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Materials Science, Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Molecular Conceptor
[Fulltext]
Provides 2,800 content pages and over 1,500 3D illustrations on medicinal chemistry, drug design, molecular modeling, cheminformatics and related subjects.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry
MRS Online Proceedings Library (1998-)
[Fulltext]
Features almost 20,000 peer-reviewed papers presented at the Materials Research Society Meetings.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
MSDS plus CHEMINFO
[Fulltext]
MSDS contains about 120,000 Material Safety Data Sheets from over 600 North American chemical manufacturers and suppliers. CHEMINFO contains profiles for over 1,300 important workplace chemicals. Each sheet or profile, representing a chemical, provides detailed evaluation of health, fire and reactivity hazards, as well as recommendations on handling and storage, disposal procedures, accidental release, and first aid. A CCOHS database.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
NASA Astrophysics Data System
[Open Access]
A NASA-funded project that includes four abstract services: Astronomy and Astrophysics (500,945 abstracts); Instrumentation (516,298 abstracts, including 90,000 from SPIE); Physics and Geophysics (429,653 abstracts); ADS/LANL Preprint Abstract Service (2,905 abstracts and full articles). In addition, they include links to scanned images of over 40,000 journal articles from most of the major astronomical journals and proceedings in its Article Service. There are also online books relating to astronomy and astrophysics.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
NetLibrary
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to 42,000 ebooks in a
wide range of disciplines: business, humanities, social sciences, science and engineering. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows note-taking. The contents of the books can be saved or printed page by page. Users can print up to 15 pages in one session.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
NIST Chemistry WebBook
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology of the USA, this database provides data of thermochemistry (5,000 compounds), enthalpy of reaction (3,000 reactions), infrared spectra (5,000 compounds), mass spectra (8,000 compounds), ion energetics (14,000 compounds), etc. Data can be searched by name, chemical formula, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number, molecular weight, ionization energy, or proton affinity.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
NIST Data Gateway
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data that covers a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. Also includes links to selected free online NIST databases. One can search by keywords, properties and substances across a collection of NIST databases.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
NSSN: A Global Resource for Standards
[Open Access]
Contains over 250,000 references to standards from more than 600 developers worldwide. It includes industry, international and U.S. Government approved standards and standards under development.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
NTIS (1964-)
[Open Access]
The largest official source for U.S. government-sponsored information in the fields of science, engineering, business and social sciences. More than 600,000 records covering publications, technical reports, and multimedia files are searchable.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
OAIster
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides free access to 23 million digital scholarly resources, such as books, journal articles, technical reports, preprints, theses, working papers, audio files, images, etc. harvested from over 1,100 institutions worldwide.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
OSH References
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literatures on occupational safety and health. The Library subscribes to the following databases in this collection: HSELINE, NIOSHTIC, NIOSHTIC-2, OSHLINE, CISILO and CANADIANA. A CCOHS database.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
Ovid Databases
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Journals
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 190 journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Scholarship Online
[Fulltext]
Contains over 1,800 e-books in a variety of subjects with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Both browsing and full-text keyword searching are supported.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Patent Databases
[Fulltext]
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Polymer Encyclopedia (1990 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Provides a comprehensive treatise on topics of polymer science, including the theory and practice of polymer engineering, the industrial production and use of polymers, and the basic concepts of polymer science. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Chemistry
PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive) (1893-)
[Fulltext]
Is an online archive of articles from the following American Physical Society journals: Physical Review, Physical Review A to E and Reviews of Modern Physics.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest
[Fulltext]
Is a web-based service which provides users with seamless access to a large collection of citations and full-text/images of periodicals, magazines and newspapers in medical research, telecommunications and computer science, applied and general sciences, business, humanities and social sciences. Cross searching among the 21 databases is permissible. Emailing or downloading of full-text articles is also supported. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Management of Organizations, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (1861-)
Previously called ProQuest Digital Dissertations, the database contains over 2 million citations and abstracts to doctoral dissertations and master's theses accepted by 1,000 universities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Hong Kong, and other regions. It also provides 24-page previews of dissertations/theses published since 1997. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards. Free download of full-text image files is only restricted to business dissertations worldwide and HKUST PhD dissertations. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest Research Library
[Fulltext]
Previously called Health Module, this database covers information on physical and mental health, including medical conditions, substance abuse, insurance, health policy and more. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
PubChem
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. It consists of three linked databases, PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay, within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Chemistry
PubMed
[Open Access]
Is the National Library of Medicine's free search service to access Medline and National Center for Biotechnology Information's databases. Medline contains citations and abstracts to articles in about 3,900 biomedical journals published worldwide, coverage dated back to 1966. NCBI's databases contain DNA sequences, protein sequences, biomolecule 3D structures and complete genomes.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Science Citation Index (1980-1999)
Provides bibliographic information to articles in more than 3,200 science periodicals. Abstracts are available starting from 1994. This database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, address, article title, journal title and cited author/reference. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) (1991-)
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 6,300 international science and engineering journals. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ScienceDirect (2000-)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to 1,800 full-text journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates, including Academic Press, North-Holland and Pergamon. ScienceDirect has extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine. It also contains many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities. Over 400 e-books published in 2008 are also available. The database supports both full-text searching and browsing by title or broad subject areas.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing

SciFinder Scholar
Provides integrated access to Chemical Abstracts
(1907-), Medline (1950-), CAS Registry (1907-),
CASReact (1840-), ChemCats, and ChemList. These databases together contain the citations and
abstracts to over 10,000 journals, as well as
patents, technical reports, conference proceedings,
and dissertations in chemistry, chemical engineering, and biomedicine. They also contain information on 27 million organic and inorganic substances, 57 million nucleic acid and protein sequences, 9 million single- and multi-step reactions, and 200,000 inventoried or regulated chemicals. Users can search by author, research topic, molecular formula, CAS Registry Number, chemical name, structure or reaction etc. Retrieved records are linked to free patent documents on the web and e-journals subscribed to by the Library.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry
Scirus
[Open Access]
Searches over 200 million science-specific Web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data, including peer-reviewed articles, patents, preprints, technical reports, etc. It incorporates both subscription and open access full-text scholarly literature such as arXiv.org, BioMed Central, Cogprints, government patent servers, Medline and NASA technical reports.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scitopia.org: Integrated Trusted Science & Technology Research
[Open Access]
A federated search portal to the digital libraries of 15 leading physical science and technology societies, e.g., IEEE, AIAA, AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, OSA and more. One can search over 3 million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content, conference papers, patents, government documents, spanning 150 years of science and technology. Search results automatically take the users to the full-text articles if the source is subscribed to by the user library or freely available on the Internet.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scopus (1966-)
Provides bibliographic information and
abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals,
750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade
publications from over 4,000 international
publishers. Subject coverage includes science,
engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The
database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Most records in Scopus are linked to the corresponding original articles at the publishers' web sites. Full-text access is limited to the
publications for which the Library has an electronic subscription. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Searching PAJ (Patent Abstracts of Japan)
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
The PAJ database provides full-image access to English translations of Japanese patents. It has over 6 million records with bibliographic data, summarized texts and major drawings. Users may also link to a facsimile of the original Japanese patent from the English version.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Sigma-Aldrich Material Safety Data Sheets
[Fulltext]
Contains about 80,000 Material Safety Data Sheets on chemicals submitted to the US Occupational Safety and Health Administration from Sigma, Aldrich, and Fluka chemical companies.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
SPIN Web (1975-)
Provides citations and abstracts to articles from over 100 journals and conference proceedings in physics, astronomy, and related disciplines.
Full-text access is limited to the titles for which the Library has an electronic subscription.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
SpringerLink
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of 1,388 journals published by Springer, Kluwer, and Brill. Subjects covered include not only the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) fields, but also business, humanities and social sciences.
In addition, over 11,000 full-text ebooks published by Springer since 1997 are also available. Full-text access is limited to those titles purchased by the Library.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Economics, Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Testing & Education Reference Center
[Fulltext]
Comprises 6 sections: High School Tools, College Prep Tools, Career Tools, Graduate School Tools, International and Family College Planning Center which provide extensive career and education-related information in North America. Some unique resources are Resume Builder, Virtual Career Library (Under Career Tools--> Research Careers), Graduate School Search, Graduate Scholarship Search, and online practice tests and ebooks for TOEFL, GRE, GMAT, LSAT and many other graduate/college entrance examinations. Users need to create an account in TERC to access certain features such as viewing e-books and taking practice tests.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
TOXLINE (1999-)
Provides over 4 million citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Sources include journals, books, reports, and theses. Different from the full TOXLINE, this version does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS , or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts. The database contains records from the last 5 years plus the current year on a rolling basis. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Engineering->Civil Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
TOXNET
[Open Access]
Free Web access to databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Major databases include Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), and Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS).
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
USPTO Web Patent Databases
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provided by the US Patent and Trademark Office, it contains full-text images of US patents from 1790 to present.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Web of Science (1991-)
Provides web access to Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. The former covers 6,300 international science and engineering journals. The latter covers 1,800 social science and business journals worldwide. In addition to bibliographic information and abstracts, these two indexes also contain the references cited in the articles. The database can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Electronic Major Reference Works (Wiley eMRWs)
[Fulltext]
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
[Fulltext]
Contains 350 peer-reviewed articles and over 2,000 tables, figures, and illustrations, incorporating the fundamentals of life, engineering, mathematical, and information sciences with the methodologies and systems of biomedical engineering. Subject areas covered include biochemical engineering, biomedical education, biomedical devices and instrumentation, human performance and reverse engineering, rehabilitation and orthopedic engineering. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Interscience
[Fulltext]
Provides integrated access to the full-text of over 1,100 journals published by Blackwell Publishing as well as citations and abstracts of hundreds of journals, reference works, and books published by John Wiley & Sons.
Full-text access to Wiley publications is restricted to 450 journals, 380 books and 10 major reference works for which the Library has a subscription.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
WIPS (Worldwide Intellectual Property Search) (1976-)
[Fulltext]
Provides English abstracts and full-text/images in the original language of patents and patent applications published by the US, European, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean patent offices
as well as the World Intellectual Property Organization. This database offers a number of advanced features, such as save query, my folder, patent mapping and clustering, and citation analysis, which are not available in open access
patent databases. User Manual
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Worldwide Intellectual Property Search
[Fulltext]
Description
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Worldwide Standards Services (1998 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains the comprehensive index of U.S. Standards, non-U.S. National Standards, and International Standards. Full-text images of British Standards and International Standards Organization standards are available. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
last updated: 9-Mar-2010 - 16:02:52
Links Engine 2.0 By: Gossamer Threads Inc.
© HKUST Library