Resources (show|hide descriptions)
萬方視頻 = Wanfang Video
[Fulltext]
[Mobile Capable]
Provides access to Chinese video programs offered by the Phoenix TV. The Library subscribes to 2 modules including 世紀大講堂 (2007-2011) and開卷八分鐘 (2009-2010) which consists of over 500 documentaries, lectures, interviews, etc. Videos can be searched or browsed by subjects relating to philosophy, humanities, economy, technology and social sciences. The dialogue is in Putonghua, and some videos carry subtitles of traditional Chinese. Users can also create an individual account in Wanfang Video to access certain features. Flash player is required, and the videos are not allowed for downloading.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Business and Management->Economics, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Humanities, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science
Academic Search Premier
[Fulltext]
A multi-disciplinary database which covers 4,500 publications, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for about 100 journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. An EBSCOhost database. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Aerospace Database (1962-)
This title is no longer available
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Books24x7
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to about 12,000 e-books in four collections: BusinessPro, FinancePro, EngineeringPro and ITPro. Accompanying tables can be downloaded in excel format for further manipulation. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows bookmarking of pages with annotations. Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management
Cambridge Journals Online
[Fulltext]
[Mobile Capable]
Provides full-text access to over 200 titles published by the Cambridge University Press.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Databases
This title is no longer available. Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database has merged with ProQuest Database.
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Career Insider
[Fulltext]
Career Insider provides a wide range of career information and management tools. Users can download over 100 ebooks on industries, companies, employers and general career topics. In addition to industry and company profiles, users can gain career advice and learn best practices in job search. First time user is required to create a personal account to access the service.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (Web of Science) (1990-)
[Mobile Capable]
Provides access to two citation databases including Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH). Bibliographic information and abstract can be searched by keyword, author, conference, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year in over 110,000 journals and book-based proceedings across 256 subject disciplines. Database Guide.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
COS Conference Papers Index (1982-)
Formerly named as Conference Papers Index. This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers
physics, engineering and materials science. A ProQuest database. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
[Fulltext]
Covers the fundamental principles, theories, and methodologies of nanoscience and nanotechnology
as well as their applications in materials and surface science, mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering, computer technology, chemistry, biomedicine, and many other areas. The database contains over 300 articles, nearly 4,000
pictures, illustrations, and tables, plus more than 21,000 references.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Ebrary
[Fulltext]
Contains close to 5,000 ebooks from leading publishers in a wide variety of subject areas. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported. During each session, users can print/download up to 40 pages per request. Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EBSCO eBook Collection
[Fulltext]
[Mobile Capable]
Formerly called NetLibrary, it provides full-text access to 42,000 titles. A wide range of subjects are covered, including arts & architecture, business & economics, computer science, engineering & technology, fiction, literature & criticism, mathematics, philosophy, psychology religion, etc. The database also supports full-text keyword searching and allows note-taking. The contents of the books can be saved or printed. Users can print up to 60 pages in one session. The whole book can be checked out for one day via Adobe Digital Editions. Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EBSCOhost Research Databases
[Fulltext]
[Mobile Capable]
Consists of eighteen databases which provide access to the full text/images of a large collection of ebooks, journals, magazines, reports, and newspapers in various disciplines. Cross searching among the databases is allowed. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Energy Citations Database (1948-)
[Open Access]
Provides citations to literature on energy and related subjects from the U.S. Department of Energy and its predecessor agencies. It indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, patents, reports and theses.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
ENGnetBASE
[Fulltext]
Provides access and cross-file searching to over 700 engineering handbooks published by CRC Press. Users can either browse the table of contents of each individual handbook, or use keyword searching to retrieve and display related full-text information.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
FirstSearch
A collection of research databases maintained by Online Catalog Library Center (OCLC) in the United States. At present, the Library provides access to 3 FirstSearch databases including GPO Monthly Catalog, World Almanacs and WorldCat. The WorldCat contains over 30 million records of books and other materials from thousands of libraries worldwide. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Google Scholar
[Open Access]
Is a Google search engine specifically for scholarly literature, e.g., peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities, etc. It automatically analyzes citations and includes them in search results. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
IEEE Xplore
[Fulltext]
[Mobile Capable]
Provides the full images of over 6,700 periodicals, conference proceedings, as well as standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). It is the online version of IEEE/IEE Electronic Library. Most documents are dated from 1988, but archival documents dated as far back as 1954 are also available. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Science->Science->Physics
IELTS Preparation Module
[Fulltext]
Published by Net Languages, this online module includes IELTS speaking and writing preparation courses as well as practice test. Interactive exercises, useful tips, test strategies are provided in all parts of the course to help you become familiar with the actual test. Up to 25 users can use IELTS preparation module at the same time.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science
INSPEC and INSPEC Archive (1898-)
Provides citations and abstracts to literature dealing with physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and information technology. Sources include over 4,200 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books and reports. This database is supported by IEEE Xplore, which provides the full-text images of the IEEE/IEE publications indexed in INSPEC. An OVID database. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
IOS Press
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 70 journals published by IOS Press. Subjects covered are mostly in science and engineering, but some business and humanities and social sciences titles are also included.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Journal Citation Reports on CD-ROM (Science ed.) (1994-2001)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within
their subject categories. The database covers 5,700 leading international science and
engineering journals. Users can filter the journals by subject and then sort them by
impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal
title. This database is available in the Database Room on the Library G/F. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Journal Citation Reports on the Web (2002-)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. The Science edition covers 6,300 leading international science and
engineering journals. The Social Sciences edition covers 1,800 leading business and social
sciences journals. Users can filter the journals by subject and then sort them by impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal title.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Knovel
[Fulltext]
Offers full-text access to over 1,500 titles in 19 handbook collections across the engineering and science subjects. These include: Adhesives, Coating, Sealants & Inks, Aerospace & Radar Technology, Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology, Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering & Construction Materials, Earth Sciences, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, Environment & Environmental Engineering, Food Science, General Engineering and Engineering Management, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Metals & Metallurgy, Oil & Gas Engineering, Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries, Plastics & Rubber, Safety & Industrial Hygiene and Textiles. The database supports browsing by book title as well as full-text searching. Quick Start Manual. Online Tutorial. Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Engineering->Civil Engineering, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Engineering->Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Life Science
MyiLibrary
[Fulltext]
It provides access to 12,511 e-books published from 2004. The titles cover a broad range of humanities and social sciences subjects. About 1,700 science and technology titles are also included. Users can browse by subject, publisher
and title or search the full-text of the books. Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science
NetLibrary
This title is no longer available, it has merged into EBSCOhost. See EBSCO eBook Collection.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
NTIS (1964-)
[Open Access]
The largest official source for U.S. government-sponsored information in the fields of science, engineering, business and social sciences. More than 600,000 records covering publications, technical reports, and multimedia files are searchable.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
OAIster
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides free access to 23 million digital scholarly resources, such as books, journal articles, technical reports, preprints, theses, working papers, audio files, images, etc. harvested from over 1,100 institutions worldwide.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Ovid Databases
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Journals
[Fulltext]
[Mobile Capable]
Provides full-text access to over 190 journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest
[Fulltext]
Is a web-based service which provides users with seamless access to a large collection of citations and full-text/images of periodicals, magazines and newspapers in medical research, telecommunications and computer science, applied and general sciences, business, humanities and social sciences. Cross searching among the 35 databases is permissible. Emailing or downloading of full-text articles is also supported. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Management of Organizations, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I (1861-)
Previously called ProQuest Digital Dissertations, the database contains over 2 million citations and abstracts to doctoral dissertations and master's theses accepted by 1,000 universities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Hong Kong, and other regions. It also provides 24-page previews of dissertations/theses published since 1997. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards. Free download of full-text image files is only restricted to business dissertations worldwide and HKUST PhD dissertations. A ProQuest database. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Safari Books Online
[Fulltext]
Complementary to Books24x7, this database provides access to over 170 e-books in various business and information technology-related subjects. Most of them are published by O'Reilly Media and the Pearson Technology Group. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows emailing of book sections. It also provides links to download the zip files of programming/multimedia examples. Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) (1975-)
[Mobile Capable]
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 7,100 international science and engineering journals. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ScienceDirect (2000-)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to 1,800 full-text journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates, including Academic Press, North-Holland and Pergamon. ScienceDirect has extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine. It also contains many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities. Over 400 e-books published in 2008 are also available. The database supports both full-text searching and browsing by title or broad subject areas.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scirus
[Open Access]
Searches over 200 million science-specific Web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data, including peer-reviewed articles, patents, preprints, technical reports, etc. It incorporates both subscription and open access full-text scholarly literature such as arXiv.org, BioMed Central, Cogprints, government patent servers, Medline and NASA technical reports.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scitopia.org: Integrated Trusted Science & Technology Research
This database is no longer available.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
SciVerse Scopus (1966-)
Provides bibliographic information and
abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals,
750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade
publications from over 4,000 international
publishers. Subject coverage includes science,
engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The
database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Most records in Scopus are linked to the corresponding original articles at the publishers' web sites. Full-text access is limited to the
publications for which the Library has an electronic subscription. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
SpringerLink
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of 1,700 journals published by Springer, Kluwer, and Brill. Subjects covered include not only the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) fields, but also business, humanities and social sciences.
In addition, over 17,000 full-text ebooks published by Springer since 1997 are also available. Full-text access is limited to those titles purchased by the Library. Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Economics, Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Technology Research Database
This title is no longer available
Additional Categories: Engineering->Civil Engineering, Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering
Testing & Education Reference Center
This title is no longer available.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Versita Open
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides about 200 scholarly journals from a broad range of subject areas published by societies, universities and research institutes around the world.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wanfang Video
[Fulltext]
[Mobile Capable]
Description
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Business and Management->Economics, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Humanities, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science
Web of Science (1975-)
[Mobile Capable]
Provides web access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science and Humanities. SCIE covers 7,100 international science and engineering journals. SSCI covers 2,100 social science and business journals worldwide. Both databases can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. CPCI provides bibliographic information and abstracts to papers in over 110,000 conference proceedings worldwide across 256 subject disciplines. All four indexes contain the references cited in the papers. Database Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Online Library (Ebooks Now on Extended Trial)
[Fulltext]
Provides integrated access to citations and abstracts of over 1,500 journals, reference works and books published by John Wiley & Sons, including key imprints of Wiley-Blackwell, Wiley-VCH and Jossey-Bass. Full-text access is restricted to those journals, ebooks and major reference works for which the Library has purchased or has a subscription.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
last updated: 18-May-2013 - 17:11:50
Links Engine 2.0 By: Gossamer Threads Inc.
© HKUST Library