Alphabetical Listing
[Chinese],
A,
B,
C,
D,
E,
F,
G,
H,
I,
J,
K,
L,
M,
N,
O,
P,
Q,
R,
S,
T,
U,
V,
W, X, Y, Z
Resources (show|hide descriptions)
中國文化大革命文庫 = Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (1960-1988)
[Fulltext]
Contains historical materials related to the Revolution: Chinese Communist Party documents, speeches and writings by major party leaders and media commentaries. Compiled by leading scholars in the United States and Taiwan, this Chinese language database comprises over 10,000 documents in 35 million characters. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
中國期刊全文數據庫- 文史哲 (1994-)、教育與社會科學綜合 (2000-) 、政治軍事與法律 (2000-) 及經濟與管理 (2000-) = CAJ Full-Text Database
[Fulltext]
The Library subscribes to three series of the CAJ Full-Text Database: Literature, History and Philosophy; Education and Social Sciences; and Economics, Politics and Law, providing access to over 2,700 core journals published in Mainland China in these subject areas. It supports full-text searching or searching in specific fields such as author, title, keyword, abstract, journal name,and reference. Images of articles can either be viewed in PDF or CAJ format. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management
中國科學文獻數據庫 = Chinese Science Document Database (1983-2001)
Provides citations and abstracts to the science and technology literature published in China. Sources include over 1,800 periodicals, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports and dissertations. Most records in the database are bilingual, with title, author, source, and subject searchable in both Chinese and English.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
中國資訊行 = China InfoBank
[Fulltext]
A web-based online service on China's news, business, legal and statistical information. It offers access to a number of full-text Chinese language databases covering a wide range of information such as: business news from over 1,000 leading local newspapers (1992-); business journals and government survey reports (1995-); news and reports of publicly listed companies (1993- ); contact and background information of 180,000 companies; statistical data from national & provincial statistical yearbooks, China Economic Statistics Bulletin, the People's Bank of China Quarterly Statistical Bulletin, and Custom Statistics; China central and municipal laws and regulations (1949-); structure and functions of Chinese government agencies; and biographies on leading government officials and famous personalities. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Law and Legal Studies, Humanities and Social Sciences->Law and Legal Studies, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, News
中央研究院漢籍電子文獻
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides a powerful cross-database search engine for searching 二十五史, 十三經, 上古漢語語料庫(摘要), 樂府詩集, 台灣文獻叢刊, 中華民國史事日誌, etc. All are browsable as well.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
中文期刊篇目索引影像系統 (2000-)
[Open Access]
Provides combined access to 中華民國期刊論文索引影像系統 and 國家圖書館期刊目次服務系統. This database offers free indexes for over 4,000 periodicals from Tawian since 2000, plus some titles from Hong Kong and Macau. Scanned articles are restricted to subscribers only.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
中文社會科學引文索引 = Chinese Social Sciences Citation Index (1998-2002)
Developed jointly by Nanjing University and HKUST, CSSCI is the first citation index to articles in core Chinese language periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. It covers over 400 periodicals published in the mainland as well as some periodicals from Hong Kong and other regions. The database can be searched by author, article title, keyword, institution, journal, cited author, cited paper title, and cited publication.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
中華人民共和國國家知識產權局: 專利檢索
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides full images of an extensive amount of Chinese patents published since the 1980's, in tiff file format. In order to view the full patents, users are required to install a special viewer available under 說明書瀏覽器下載. Use of IE is recommended.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
中華民國期刊論文索引影像系統 = PerioPath: Index to Chinese Periodical Literature (1991-)
See 中文期刊篇目索引影像系統.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
九十年代 = Jiu Shi Nian Dai (1970-1998)
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of all issues of the magazines Jiu Shi Nian Dai and Qi Shi Nian Dai. Articles in the database can be retrieved by date, author, name of organization or people, and words in the title.
Additional Categories: News
二十五史 = 25 Dynasties History Database
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
A Chinese database produced by the Institute of History and Philology of Academic Sinica, Taiwan. It records the history from ancient China to the Ching dynasty. The whole database contains about 40 million characters and allows both browsing and searching.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
人民日報索引 = People's Daily Index (1946-1995)
Provides citations to articles appearing in People's Daily, the official newspaper of the Chinese central government. Each citation contains five fields: headline, author, date, country, and subject. Users can search the citations by any of these fields.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
改革開放二十年重要文獻庫 = Gaige Kaifang Ershi Nian Zhongyao Wenxianku (1978-1998)
[Fulltext]
Covers important documents of the National People's Congress, Central Committee, and State Council in the twenty years of reform and opening. It also contains writings and speeches of political leaders of the Chinese Communist Party and a chronology of significant historical events during that period. The database is made up of 14 million characters and 1,000 photos. Full-text searching, printing and downloading are supported.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
故宮【寒泉】古典文獻全文檢索資料庫
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides a search interface for various classical Chinese texts. Contents include 十三經, 先秦諸子, 全唐詩, 宋元學案, 明儒學案, 四庫總目, 朱子語類, 紅樓夢, 白沙全集, 資治通鑑, & 續通鑑. More texts will be added in the future.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
明報月刊合訂本=Ming Pao Monthly (1966-2000)
[Fulltext]
Contains the full-text archive of 420 issues of the magazine, totalling 54,000 image pages in 15 CD-ROMs. Users can search and browse by year, date, issue number, headline, author, column and broad subject category. Printing of headlines and articles is supported.
Additional Categories: News
漢語大詞典 = Hanyu Da Cidian
Is the electronic version of the 12-volume printed Hanyu Da Cidian, a comprehenisve Chinese language dictionary. It contains 18,000 Chinese characters, 336,000 compound words, 23,000 idioms, 500,000 definitions and 500 pictures. About 20 different searching methods are available in the database.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
漢達文庫-- 魏晉南北朝 = CHANT Database: Six Dynasties
[Fulltext]
It is published by the Chinese Ancient Texts Center of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. The Library's subscription to Wei Jin Nan Bei Chao (Six Dynasties) provides access to historical texts grouped under 6 categories: language, classical literature, history, philosophy, art, science and technology. Texts are available for viewing, searching and downloading.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
竹簡帛書資料庫 = Jianbo Database
[Fulltext]
Contains 9 ancient Chinese texts of the late Warring States and Qin-Han periods. Images of the original texts can be viewed side by side the interpretation texts which were reproduced with punctuation and explanatory notes. This database consists of 1.4 million characters and supports browsing, searching and export features.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
電子剪報 = WiseNews (1998-)
[Fulltext]
Provides the full-text of articles from South China Morning Post, The Standard and a number of local Chinese language newspapers: Apple Daily, Hong Kong Commercial Daily, Hong Kong Daily News, Hong Kong Economic Journal, Hong Kong Economic Times, Metropolis Daily, Ming Pao, Oriental Daily News, Sing Pao, Sing Tao Daily, The Sun, Ta Kung Po and Wen Wei Po. Articles of 32 local magazines and over 600 newspapers and magazines from China, Macau and Taiwan are also available. This bilingual database is updated daily to include today's news. Both browsing by broad topics and full-text searching are supported. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management
香港中文期刊論文索引 = HKInChiP (1990-)
[Open Access]
Provided by CUHK Library, this database contains an index and abstracts of articles from over 150 Chinese and bilingual periodicals published in Hong Kong, mainly since 1990, with some dated back to 1950s. Included also are links to full-text articles from over 20 periodicals.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
香港交易所 = HKEx
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
A comprehensive source of listing companies’ information, including current and historical annual reports dated back to 1999. Other related information includes: trading information on securities and derivatives markets, HKEx Surveys and Research Papers, market data and statistics on Main Board and Growth Enterprise Market (GEM).
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Finance
香港報章剪報目錄 = Hong Kong Newspaper Clippings Index (1980-1999)
Provides headlines of selected articles from two English language and seven Chinese language Hong Kong newspapers. Browsing the headlines by date and searching by keywords are allowed. Full images of the articles are available on microfilm. This database can only be accessed in the Media Resources Department.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
香港法例 = Laws of Hong Kong
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Hosted by the Department of Justice, this site contains a searchable database of the Laws of Hong Kong including Ordinances and Sub-legislation. You can also find full text of The Basic Law, treaties and international agreements and glossaries of legal terms. Chinese edition available.
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences->Law and Legal Studies
21世紀大英百科全書-新知與挑戰 = Encyclopaedia Britannica
[Fulltext]
Is the Chinese version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica which collects about 45,000 articles arranged under 9 major subjects: Geography, Earth Animals, Earth Plants, Engineering & Technology, Physical Sciences, Human Body & Health, History, Social Science and Arts & Sports. It comprises 35 million characters, 11,000 graphics and 13 hours of animations and videoclips in 10 CD-ROMs. An index disc is available for full-text searching. Documents retrieved can be printed.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
ABI/INFORM Global (1971-)
[Fulltext]
Provides citations and abstracts to articles from over 1,000 business, management and marketing periodicals. Full-text/images (1987-) are provided for 500 of the periodicals indexed. The database also contains 10,000 full-text business doctoral dissertations. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Management of Organizations
Academic Research Library (1971-)
[Fulltext]
Provides citations and abstracts to about 1,800 periodicals in a wide range of subjects, including science, engineering, business, humanities, and social sciences. Full-text/images are provided for over 1,000 of the periodicals indexed. The database also covers the full-text of New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY and Barron's. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Academic Search Premier
[Fulltext]
A multi-disciplinary database which covers 4,500 publications, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for about 100 journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Accounting & Tax (1990-)
[Fulltext]
Indexes and abstracts 300 key publications in accounting and taxation. It also includes summaries to relevant articles from major newspapers. Full-text/images are provided for some of the publications. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Marketing and Trade and Industry
ACM Portal to Computing Literature (1985-)
Is a service offered by the Association for Computing Machinery. It is composed of the ACM Guide and the ACM Digital Library. The Guide provides over 400,000 citations and abstracts to the worldwide English language computing literature. Sources include books, journals, proceedings, theses, and reports. The Digital Library provides the full images of journals, magazines, transactions, and conference proceedings published by ACM since its founding in 1947.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering
Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary
[Fulltext]
Features definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions that allows users to quickly and easily translate terms into their full names or meanings. New terms from subject areas such as associations, education, the Internet, medicine and others are included. A Gale Virtual Reference Library title.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
AdWise (Trial access till Dec 2009)
[Fulltext]
Provides images and related information of market advertisements published in 40 Hong Kong newspapers and magazines from August 2008. The advertisements are arranged by categories, which can be browsed or keyword searched. Users can generate ranking reports by ad value, ad count or total ad pages under "AdWise Reports." Images can be exported in PDF format.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
AGRICOLA (1970-)
An online database of the materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions. It indexes over 3.5 million records of books, periodicals, audio-visual and other materials on the subject of agriculture and related topics including animal science, entomology, food science, forestry, human nutrition, natural resources, plant diseases, insect pests and their control, rural sociology, and veterinary medicine. More than 800 periodicals are covered. A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Arts & Humanities Search (A & H Search) (1980-)
Provides bibliographic information to articles in 1,300 world's leading arts and humanities journals, and selected articles from 7,000 social science and science journals. Over 2,500,000 records make up the database. It also contains the references cited in the articles. The database can be searched by various fields including author, article title, keyword, source title, cited author, cited reference and cited work.
A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
arXiv.org e-Print archive
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
One of the most innovative and successful experiments to date in scholarly communication. First developed in 1991 by the Los Alamos National Laboratories, the arXive-print server was the first successful automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers in physics and related disciplines: mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Physics
ASCE Research Library
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to ASCE conference proceedings (2003-) and 30 ASCE journals (1990-).
Over 40,000 articles across all disciplines of civil engineering can be searched and browsed.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (1971-)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on the science, technology, and management of brackish, marine, and freshwater environments. Sources include over 5,000 periodicals, as well as books, technical reports, and conference proceedings. The database corresponds to the five printed Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts: Biological Sciences & Living Resources; Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources; Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality; Aquaculture Abstracts; and Marine Biotechnology Abstracts. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
ASTM Standards on Disc (2005 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains the full-images of the 12,000 standards published by the American Society For Testing & Materials. Users can search by standard number as well as words in the title or the abstract. The retrieved full documents, which are in PDF format, can be printed, saved, or emailed as an attachment.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest (1905-2000)
[Fulltext]
Provides an extensive archive of full-text judgments from the Hong Kong courts as well as digests of cases and legislation. It supports keyword searching. Documents can be printed or saved to local disks. This database is the combined electronic edition of the following printed titles: The Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest (1997-2000); Hong Kong Law Report (1905-1996); Hong Kong Law Digest Yearbook (1994-1996) and Hong Kong Law Yearbook (1985-1993).
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Law and Legal Studies
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) (1971-)
Provides access to over 410,000 citations pertaining to all parts of Asia. It indexes western-language journal articles, books and book chapters, mostly in the humanities and social sciences. Users can search via keyword or browse by subject, journal title or country. This database cumulates all entries of its printed editions from 1971 to 1991, with additional citations compiled after 1991.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Biological Abstracts (1991-2000)
Biological Sciences (1982-)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology,
ecology, as well as agriculture and veterinary science. Sources include over 6,000 periodicals, as well as conference proceedings, technical
reports, monographs, books, and patents. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Biology Digest (1989-)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide
literature in all areas of life sciences. Sources include over 300 scientific and popular periodicals. The database is primarily intended
for audience at the high school or undergraduate college level. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
BioMed Central
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Offers online publishing of research articles in all areas of biomedical research with full peer review and barrier-free access for all. All original articles are published in one of the BioMed Central journals as well as being posted without delay on PubMed Central and indexed in PubMed.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
BIOSIS Previews (2001-2005)
BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts (1991-2005)
Provides combined access to Biological Abstracts (BA) and BIOSIS Previews, giving citations and abstracts to the worldwide research literature on all areas of life sciences. BA indexes 5,200 journals from 1991 to 2000. BIOSIS Previews covers the same journals from 2001-2005. In addition, BIOSIS Previews also indexes reviews, books, patents, as well as meeting and conference papers from over 1,500 meetings. An OVID database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Blackwell Reference Online
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to about 300 volumes of reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Reference Tools
Blackwell Synergy (1997-) (Note: Merged with Wiley Interscience on July 1, 2008)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to the full-text of over 1,100 journals published by Blackwell Publishing. Coverage is mainly in the fields of life and physical sciences, medicine, business and economics, and social sciences and humanities, but some engineering journals are also included.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Books24x7
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to about 12,000 e-books in four collections: BusinessPro, FinancePro, EngineeringPro and ITPro. Accompanying tables can be downloaded in excel format for further manipulation. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows bookmarking of pages with annotations.
Additional Categories: Business and Management
British Standards Online
[Fulltext]
Provides access to standards published by the British Standards Institution. Full-text is available for selected library subscribed modules.
The five subscribed modules are: Construction in general; Building materials and components; Building installations and finishing; Civil engineering; and Historical standards.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Business & Industry (1994-)
Provides citations and abstracts to articles containing important facts, figures, and key events dealing with public and private companies, industries, products and markets worldwide. Sources include 1,300 trade journals, newsletters, the general business press and international business dailies. A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Business Source Premier
[Fulltext]
Provides the full text/images of over 8,000
business publications, including 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. About 250 of the journals date back to 1965 or the first issue published.
An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Cambridge Journals Online
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 200 titles published by the Cambridge University Press.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Databases
Provides access to over 30 different databases in the fields of science, engineering, humanities and social sciences. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
CEIC China Premium Database
[Fulltext]
A Chinese statistical database which provides more than 230,000 time series of macroeconomic and industry data at national, provincial and city level. Topics include national account, government and public finance, labor market, consumer good market, foreign trade, money and banking, investment, real estate, automobile and lots more. Time series can be exported in Excel format. IE 7.0 or Firefox 2.0 browser is preferred.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Reference Tools->Facts and Statistics
Changing Times (1993 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains approximately 15,000 newspaper articles from the Times (London) and the Sunday Times covering the last 200 years. The articles cover significant major world events and the database includes pictures and other documents.
Additional Categories: News
Chemical Abstracts on CD-ROM (1987-2005)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature in all areas of biochemistry, chemistry and chemical engineering. Sources include over 9,000 journals, as well as patents, technical reports, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry
China Historical GIS Webmaps
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
The China Historical Geographic Information System (CHGIS) project provides searchable databases containing images of Harvard's map collections, including maps from Qing Dynasty, Chinese place names, East Asian Maps, and other GIS Resources.
Additional Categories: Reference Tools->Maps and Atlases
China InfoBank
[Fulltext]
Description
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Law and Legal Studies, Humanities and Social Sciences->Law and Legal Studies, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, News
Chinese Social Sciences Citation Index
Description
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Chinese Social Sciences Periodicals Index
Description
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) (1991-)
[Fulltext]
Provides a wide range of literature on theory and research in international affairs. Related subjects include human rights, ethnic conflicts, globalization, nationalism, environment, defense policy etc. Users can search across its collection of books, journals, conference proceedings, policy briefs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs and
foundation-funded research projects.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Combined Chemical Dictionary
[Fulltext]
Covers all 500,000 compounds contained in Champion and Hall's Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, and Dictionary of Drugs. Information provided for each compound includes its systematic and common names; structure diagrams; chemical, physical and biological properties; and literature references. The database's software enables searching structure graphically and viewing both chemical diagrams and textual information. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Conference Papers Index (1982-)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers
physics, engineering and materials science. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Congressional Masterfile (1789-1998)
Is published by the U.S. Congressional Information Service. It consists of 2 files: Masterfile 1 contains bibliographic records for congressional documents issued from the First Congress in 1789 through 1972 including congressional reports, published and unpublished committee hearings, committee prints, and Senate executive documents and reports. Masterfile 2 contains bibliographic records for all congressional publications issued from 1970 onwards. Full-text of the U.S. congressional documents on China (1970-2000), Hong Kong (1999) and Taiwan (1789-2000) is available in the Microforms Section.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Contemporary Women's Issues
Covers over 1,500 sources (periodical and non-periodical) published around the world. Focuses on timely and relevant topics and meaningful issues for women, including health, human rights, the work place, legal status, and more. A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
CrossRef
[Open Access]
Is a citation linking service based on DOI (Digital Object Identifier) standards. It provides access to millions of citations and abstracts of articles from over 1,600 scholarly and professional publishers. Full-text is only available for open access content or for those resources to which the Library has a subscription.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
[Fulltext]
Is an authoritative manual of laboratory methods in molecular biology research. It includes
chapters on protein analysis, DNA sequencing, preparation of DNA and RNA, immunology, polymerase chain reaction, and much more. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry
[Fulltext]
Provides step-by-step laboratory procedures for the synthesis, modification, purification, analysis, and utilization of nucleic acids. It includes everything from the basic fundamentals of lab work to the most cutting-edge methods. All protocols have been contributed by leading investigators in the field. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry
Datastream
[Fulltext]
An extensive company and financial database which covers annual and interim/quarterly data, historical financial statement content, share data and ratios, and stock performance data for over 175 countries and 60 markets worldwide. Data on bonds, unit and investment trusts, interest and exchange rates, equity and bond indices, economic indicators, options and futures as well as commodities are also available. The subscription includes two delivery platforms (DS Advance and DS Windows) and Advance for Office (AFO) which allows users to build complex models, charts, and reports in Microsoft Office.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Accounting, Business and Management->Company Information, Business and Management->Economics
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
[Fulltext]
Covers the fundamental principles, theories, and methodologies of nanoscience and nanotechnology
as well as their applications in materials and surface science, mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering, computer technology, chemistry, biomedicine, and many other areas. The database contains over 300 articles, nearly 4,000
pictures, illustrations, and tables, plus more than 21,000 references.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Derivative Warrants & Debt Securities Issuer Documents (1997-2007)
[Fulltext]
Contains full images of documents published by issuers of derivative warrants and debt securities listed on the HKEx. Searching by stock code, issuer name, document type, date and language is available. From 2008 and onwards, see Main Board Structured Products & Debt Securities Issuer Documents.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Ebrary
[Fulltext]
Contains 4,400 ebooks from leading publishers in a wide variety of subject areas. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported. Users have to install a plug-in program once. During each session, users can print up to 20 pages per book, subject to a maximum of 40 pages.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EBSCO Animals
This title is no longer available. See Primary Search.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
EBSCOhost Research Databases
[Fulltext]
Consists of seventeen databases which provide access to the full text/images of a large collection of journals, magazines, reports, and newspapers in various disciplines. Cross searching among the databases is allowed. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (1985-)
[Fulltext]
Provides indexes and detailed abstracts of environmental impact statements issued by the U.S. Federal Government. Topics include air transportation, defense programs, energy hazardous substances, land use, parks, refuges, and forests, research and development, roads and railroads, urban and social programs and water. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
EIU.COM (1996-)
[Fulltext]
Formerly called EIU Country Intelligence, it provides full-text access to 10 titles published by the Economist Intelligence Unit, covering a wide range of business information for 19 countries. Titles include Business China, China Hand, Country Finance, Country Forecast, Country Report, Country Profile, Country Risk Service, Country Commerce (formerly called Investing, Licensing & Trading) and others. Searching by country, publication title or keyword is supported. Documents can be displayed in either HTML or PDF format with full images and graphics.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Economics
Electronic National Economic Atlas of China (1996 ed.)
Compiled by the Chinese Academy of Sciences with the support of the State Statistical Bureau of PRC. It contains 250 maps and large quantity of most up-to-date demographic, social, and economic data at the province or county level. The built-in software enables users to view, visualize, plot, print, query and export data in a wide variety of ways.
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Reference Tools->Maps and Atlases
Emerald Business, Management & Economics eBook Series Collection (Trial access till Dec 2009)
[Fulltext]
This collection includes 400 volumes in 65 series with new content added each year. Featuring titles from the highly regarded JAI imprint, the collection covers subjects such as strategy, accounting and finance, organizational studies and economics. The books are available in both html and PDF formats, and can be cross searched with Emerald journals.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Emerald Management Xtra 175 (Trial access till Dec 2009)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to 175 full-text journals published by Emerald, a major publisher of management research. The range of titles covers all major management disciplines such as accounting and finance, marketing, human resources management, library and information studies, and operations and logistics management.
Users can also view bibliographic details of documents not covered in the trial.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Emerald Social Sciences eBook Series Collection (Trial access till Dec 2009)
[Fulltext]
This collection contains over 180 volumes across 37 series titles, giving access to contemporary research in diverse areas such as education, sociology, politics and linguistics.
The titles included feature some of the most notable authors in their field, such as Austin Sarat, Paul Maginn, Geoffrey Walford and Thomas Scruggs. The books are available in both html and PDF formats, and can be cross searched with Emerald journals.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopaedia Britannica (Chinese version)
[Fulltext]
Description
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
[Fulltext]
Provides integrated searching on the 32-volume
Encyclopaedia Britannica, the Britannica Books of the Year, Britannica Student and Elementary Encyclopedias, Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and World Atlas. It contains over 124,000 articles, 23,000 biographies, 27,000 maps, graphics and illustrations,
3,300 videos and sound clips, 200,000
definitions, and 200,000 Internet sites selected and rated by the Britannica editors. Various browser options are also supported. A 2002 CD-ROM edition is also available.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
[Fulltext]
Is a multi-volume work written and edited by global authorities in the field. Comprising approximately 200 substantial articles, the encyclopedia provides detailed, expert coverage of the subject.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Civil Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Japan
[Fulltext]
Is an English language database comprising 12,000 entries with about 2,500 photographs and illustrations on all aspects of Japan. Users can
search the contents via keywords or browse the alphabetical index and broad subject categories. Additional browsing options by Timeline, Localities, Gallery and Special Tours are also available. Documents retrieved can be printed.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
[Fulltext]
This reference work features over 3,900 peer-viewed articles across the life sciences. Topics include biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution and diversity of life, functional and comparative morphology, genetics and disease, genetics and molecular biology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, plant science, science and society, structural biology, and virology. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
[Fulltext]
Covers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues raised by science and technology. It includes general reference information but also uses a historically and culturally inclusive approach to ethics, with entries on specific religions, linguistic and cultural perspectives, and philosophical positions. A Gale Virtual Reference Library title.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
[Fulltext]
Corresponds to the 16 volume print edition of the encyclopedia. It is the primary reference tool for those working in the areas of statistics, quality control, economics, probability, and statistics as well as those applying statistical methods in almost any discipline. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science
[Fulltext]
Contributed by leading psychologists and statisticians world-wide, this title presents comprehensive statistical concepts and methodologies in behavioral sciences with practical examples. Latest subject areas such as neuroscience, behavioral genetics, decision science and cognitive science are also covered. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Business and Management
Encyclopedia of Telecommunications
[Fulltext]
Provides comprehensive overview of both the fundamentals of and recent developments in telecommunications. It covers over 300 articles on various topics including optical communications, modulation and demodulation, coding and decoding, communication networks and antennas. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Energy Citations Database (1948-)
[Open Access]
Provides citations to literature on energy and related subjects from the U.S. Department of Energy and its predecessor agencies. It indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, patents, reports and theses.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Engineered Materials Abstracts (1986-)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the science, development and production of ceramics, polymers and composite materials. Over 1,600 sources including journals, technical reports, patents, dissertations, books and conference proceedings are abstracted. The database is updated monthly and about 12,000 abstracts are collected annually. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
English Poetry (1995 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Provides the full-text of English poems by 1,350 poets living between 600-1900.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
ENGnetBASE
[Fulltext]
Provides access and cross-file searching to over 700 engineering handbooks published by CRC Press. Users can either browse the table of contents of each individual handbook, or use keyword searching to retrieve and display related full-text information.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (1965-)
Provides abstracts to the worldwide literature covering all aspects of the environmental sciences. Subject coverage includes air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations. The database is updated monthly and over 76,000 abstracts are collected annually. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Civil Engineering, Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry, Science->Chemistry
Ergonomics Abstracts Online (1986-)
Contains over 84,400 abstracts published by the printed journal Ergonomics Abstracts. The database covers the whole range of ergonomics, human factors, and related literature. Sources include about 350 relevant journals, as well as selected conference proceedings, reports, and books.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Esp@cenet (Europe's Network of Patent Databases)
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Are maintained by the European Patent Office. The databases provide bibliographic information, abstracts, and full text/images of US patents, British patents, French patents, German patents, Swiss patents, and patent applications published by the European Patent Office and the World Intellectual Property Office. Bibliographic information and abstracts of Chinese and Japanese patents, and bibliographic information of patents from over 50 other countries are also available.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Express Exec.com
[Fulltext]
Consists of 12 modules, containing 1,200 individual chapters on the current management concepts and principle aspects of global business practices. It provides best practice cases, key ideas, action points, glossaries, further readings, e-books and live links to other information sources.
A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Management of Organizations
Faulkner's Advisory for Information Technology Studies (FAITS)
[Fulltext]
Contains 1,200 reports on 14 key IT-related subjects, covering Broadband, Converging Communications, Electronic Business Strategies, IT Asset Management, Security Strategies, Telecom & Global Network Services, Wireless Communications, etc. These full-text reports include technology tutorials, marketplace reports, implementation guides, standards reports, product/service profiles, timelines, and comparison guides. Users can browse by subjects or report types or search the database full-text. Search results are ranked by relevancy.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Business and Management->Marketing and Trade and Industry, Engineering->Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management
Financial Times on CD-ROM (1990-1999)
[Fulltext]
Provides the full-text of articles published in the UK edition of the newspaper Financial Times, plus extra articles from the international edition published in Europe, North America and Japan.
Additional Categories: News
FirstSearch
A collection of research databases maintained by Online Catalog Library Center (OCLC) in the United States. At present, the Library provides access to 10 FirstSearch databases covering topics in the science and technology, business, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Examples of these databases include AGRICOLA, Arts & Humanities Search, Business & Indusry and WorldCat. WorldCat contains over 30 million records of books and other materials from thousands of libraries worldwide. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Future Trends
An abstracting and indexing service from SourceOECD, it provides access to thousands of published and unpublished sources in over a dozen languages pertinent to long-term strategic analysis and decision making in the public and private sectors.
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences
Gaige Kaifang Ershi Nian Zhongyao Wenxianku
[Fulltext]
Description
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Gale Virtual Reference Library
[Fulltext]
Provides a collection of encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, and other reference sources in various disciplines. Each title supports browsing via its table of contents and index. Full-text keyword search can be performed on individual or multiple publications.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Geobase (1980-)
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on the earth sciences. Sources include over 2,000 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations. A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry
Global Market Information Database (1996-)
Google Patent Search (1790-)
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Covers the entire collection of U.S. issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO. Images of the patents can be downloaded as PDF files.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Google Scholar
[Open Access]
Is a Google search engine specifically for scholarly literature, e.g., peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities, etc. It automatically analyzes citations and includes them in search results. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
GreenFILE
[Fulltext]
Provides over 384,000 citations and abstracts to environment-related literature, and more than 4,700 open access full-text documents. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and lots more. An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Biology and Biochemistry
Growth Enterprise Market (GEM) Listed Companies Corporate Documents (1999-)
[Fulltext]
Published by Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Ltd., it provides the full image files of corporate documents of the publicly listed companies in the Hong Kong Growth Enterprise Market. Documents include prospectuses, general mandates, consolidation/subdivision, and share option scheme.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Handbook of Psychology
[Fulltext]
A 12-volume handbook which covers all the fundamental areas in psychology. A vast diversity of related topics including intelligence, emotion, personality, women and gender, education, and ethnic minorities are covered. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Hanyu Da Cidian
Description
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
HKEx
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Description
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Finance
Hong Kong Directory
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Maintained by the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, it is a searchable database of 100,000 Hong Kong business contacts, from manufacturers and exporters, to importers and service companies, including details of 18,000 brands owned or represented by Hong Kong companies. Besides contact information, more detailed information includes year of establishment, number of staff, products and services, areas of specialisation, related companies within and outside Hong Kong, and its target markets.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Marketing and Trade and Industry
Hong Kong Listed Companies : Corporate Documents (1997-)
[Fulltext]
Published by Hong Kong Exchanges, it contains full-text documents including bonus issue, circulars, general mandate, offer, placing, prospectus, proxy form, reorganization, rights issue, script dividend, and takeover/acquisition.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Hong Kong Newspaper Clippings Index
Description
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
IDEAS
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
The largest database dedicated to Economics available on the Internet. Over 200,000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 120,000 can be downloaded in full text! It includes working papers and articles from over 150 archives, such as IMF, NBER, US Federal Reserve Bank, central banks and major universities in the world. Contains the complete RePEc database.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
IEEE Xplore
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of over 6,700 periodicals, conference proceedings, as well as standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). It is the online version of IEEE/IEE Electronic Library. Most documents are dated from 1988, but archival documents dated as far back as 1954 are also available. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Science->Science->Physics
Index to Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1982-1996)
Provides citations to the corresponding full-text Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports collection on microfiche. Subject coverage includes official news from Asia, Europe, Latin America, and Sub-Saharan Africa.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
INSPEC and INSPEC Archive (1898-)
Provides citations and abstracts to literature dealing with physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and information technology. Sources include over 4,200 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books and reports. This database is supported by IEEE Xplore, which provides the full-text images of the IEEE/IEE publications indexed in INSPEC. An OVID database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
Instant Gloves + CPC Database (1995 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains over 10,000 chemical test records on hundreds of chemicals, providing breakthrough times and permeation rates for hundreds of chemical protective clothing (CPC) products on the market. Reference sources and manufacturer contact information of the products are also included.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
International Financial Statistics (1948-)
[Fulltext]
Contains over 26,000 annual, quarterly, and monthly time series of economic and financial statistics on about 200 countries. Topics covered include balance of payments, banking and financial systems, employment, exchange rates, fund position, government finance, interest rates, international liquidity and banking, national accounts, population, prices, production, and trade. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Economics, Business and Management->Finance, Reference Tools->Facts and Statistics
IOS Press
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 70 journals published by IOS Press. Subjects covered are mostly in science and engineering, but some business and humanities and social sciences titles are also included.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ITU (International Telecommunication Union) Recommendations: Search
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Indexes the standards produced by ITU, including recommendations from the ITU Radiocommunication Sector (ITU-R), the ITU Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T), and the Telecommunication Development Bureau (ITU-D). Free access is provided for ITU-T and ITU-D recommendations. There are around 3,100 ITU-T recommendations in force on topics from service definition to network architecture and security, from dial-up modems to Gbit/s optical transmission systems to next-generation networks (NGN) and IP-related issues.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Jianbo Database
[Fulltext]
Description
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Jiu Shi Nian Dai
[Fulltext]
Journal Citation Reports on CD-ROM (Social Sciences ed.) (1994-2001)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. The database covers 1,700 leading international business and social sciences journals. Users can filter the journals by subject
and then sort them by impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal title. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management
Journal Citation Reports on CD-ROM (Science ed.) (1994-2001)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within
their subject categories. The database covers 5,700 leading international science and
engineering journals. Users can filter the journals by subject and then sort them by
impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal
title. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Journal Citation Reports on the Web (2002-)
Provides citation statistics for determining the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. The Science edition covers 6,300 leading international science and
engineering journals. The Social Sciences edition covers 1,800 leading business and social
sciences journals. Users can filter the journals by subject and then sort them by impact factor, immediacy index, total cites, current articles, cited half-life, or journal title.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
JSTOR
[Fulltext]
Offers the full-text of over 200 core journals in 24 disciplines going back to their first issues. As an archival database, issues of recent 3-5 years are not available. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
[Fulltext]
Is the online version of the multi-volume reference work, covering properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical materials, theory and practice of chemical engineering, current research, and emerging technologies. Environmental, health and economic concerns are also addressed. All articles are preceded by abstracts. It supports both browsing and searching. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Knovel
[Fulltext]
Offers full-text access to over 1,500 titles in 19 handbook collections across the engineering and science subjects. These include: Adhesives, Coating, Sealants & Inks, Aerospace & Radar Technology, Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology, Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering & Construction Materials, Earth Sciences, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, Environment & Environmental Engineering, Food Science, General Engineering and Engineering Management, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Metals & Metallurgy, Oil & Gas Engineering, Plastics & Rubber, Safety & Industrial Hygiene. The database supports browsing by book title as well as full-text searching.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Engineering->Civil Engineering, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Engineering->Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry, Science->Chemistry
Lawlist
[Open Access]
Contains directory information of members of the Law Society of Hong Kong, solicitors' firms, notaries public, foreign lawyers and law costs draftsmen in Hong Kong. The lists are searchable by practitioner's name or organization's name.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Law and Legal Studies, Reference Tools->Directories
LexisNexis Academic
[Fulltext]
Is tailored specifically to the news, business and legal research needs of academic institutions. LexisNexis Academic offers users news from nearly 6,000 English language sources, including US and international newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and broadcast transcripts. A vast majority of these sources are full-text. The service also provides access to corporate profiles, SEC documents, country profiles, and business directories. Legal materials covered include US statutes, case law and law reviews. International case law covers Hong Kong and a number of the commonwealth countries.Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Business and Management->Law and Legal Studies, Humanities and Social Sciences->Law and Legal Studies, News
Main Board Structured Products & Debt Securities Issuer Documents (2008-)
[Fulltext]
Published by issuers of structured products and debt securities, it contains full images of documents including circulars, listing documents, proxy forms, shares buyback reports, etc. It is formerly called Derivative Warrants & Debt Securities Issuer Documents.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
MAS Ultra – School Edition
[Fulltext]
Contains full text of more than 500 periodicals and 360 reference books in various subjects including general reference, health, science, etc. The database also provides biographies, photos, maps and flags. An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences->Humanities
MathSciNet (1940-)
Provides citations and reviews to international literature in mathematics and related areas. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, and books. It is composed of two subfiles: Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, the former is updated monthly and the latter is updated daily.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Science->Alphabetical Listing
MatWeb: Material Property Data
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
A free materials information database with over 24,000 materials including metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. Users can search by material type, trade name, manufacturer, property, and metal composition. It also provides other useful resources like conversions table and weight calculator.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Metadex (1966-)
Provides abstracts to the worldwide technical literature covering all aspects of metallurgical science and technology, especially properties, processing, products and material development. Sources include journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, reports, books and dissertations. The database is updated monthly and about 38,500 abstracts are collected annually. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
MicroPatent Materials Patents (1996-)
[Fulltext]
Provides patent information of US, European and Patent Cooperation Treaty patents for engineering and material science disciplines. Major areas of coverage include steels, high performance alloys, nonferrous metals and alloys, metal matrix composites, engineering ceramics, engineering polymers, polymer matrix composites, ceramic matrix composites, materials processing and processing equipment, aerospace materials and applications, automotive materials and applications, and alloy development. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Materials Science, Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Military & Government Collection
[Fulltext]
Provides more than 300 full-text periodicals covering all branches of the military and government. Abstracts of another 400 journals are also available.An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Business and Management->Law and Legal Studies, Humanities and Social Sciences
Ming Pao Monthly
[Fulltext]
MLA International Bibliography
Published by the Modern Language Association, this database contains over 2 million citations of books, articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. More than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers are indexed. It also provides direct links to the full-text documents of the JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection.
A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Molecular Conceptor
[Fulltext]
Provides 2,800 content pages and over 1,500 3D illustrations on medicinal chemistry, drug design, molecular modeling, cheminformatics and related subjects.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry
Monthly Market Data (2001-)
[Fulltext]
Published by the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Ltd., it provides daily market data, short-selling data, and trading summary for equity and debt securities, equity and derivative warrants, unit trusts, equity linked instruments, callable bull/bear contracts (CBBC), NASDAQ stocks and iShares. Daily index closing, average price earnings ratios and average dividend yield are also included.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Monthly Market Statistics (Cash) (12/1999-)
[Fulltext]
Published by the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Ltd., it provides monthly trading summaries on the securities and derivatives markets including newly listed securities and index performance. Both English and Chinese versions are available.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Monthly Market Statistics (Derivatives) (10/2000-)
[Fulltext]
Published by the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Ltd., it provides monthly trading data grouped under these headings: Derivatives Market Highlights (Hang Seng Index Options & Futures), Trading of Stock Futures, and Trading of Stock Options. Both English and Chinese versions are available.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
MRS Online Proceedings Library (1998-)
[Fulltext]
Features almost 20,000 peer-reviewed papers presented at the Materials Research Society Meetings.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science->Science->Chemistry, Science->Physics
MSDS plus CHEMINFO
[Fulltext]
MSDS contains about 120,000 Material Safety Data Sheets from over 600 North American chemical manufacturers and suppliers. CHEMINFO contains profiles for over 1,300 important workplace chemicals. Each sheet or profile, representing a chemical, provides detailed evaluation of health, fire and reactivity hazards, as well as recommendations on handling and storage, disposal procedures, accidental release, and first aid. A CCOHS database.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
NASA Astrophysics Data System
[Open Access]
A NASA-funded project that includes four abstract services: Astronomy and Astrophysics (500,945 abstracts); Instrumentation (516,298 abstracts, including 90,000 from SPIE); Physics and Geophysics (429,653 abstracts); ADS/LANL Preprint Abstract Service (2,905 abstracts and full articles). In addition, they include links to scanned images of over 40,000 journal articles from most of the major astronomical journals and proceedings in its Article Service. There are also online books relating to astronomy and astrophysics.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Naxos Music Library
[Fulltext]
Provides online access to over 23,000 music CDs produced by Naxos, Marco Polo and many other independent labels. While classical music is heavily represented, other genres such as jazz, world, folk and Chinese music are also available. Notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists are also provided. The database supports browsing and searching. IE browser preferred.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Naxos Spoken Word Library
[Fulltext]
Contains about 450 audiobooks giving access to 10,000 tracks of spoken word with music. The collection covers mainly classics in fiction, plays and poetry. Users can follow the text on screen while listening. New titles are added monthly. The database supports browsing and searching.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
NetLibrary
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to 42,000 ebooks in a
wide range of disciplines: business, humanities, social sciences, science and engineering. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows note-taking. The contents of the books can be saved or printed page by page. Users can print up to 15 pages in one session.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Newspaper Source
[Fulltext]
Provides selected full text of about 30 U.S. and
international newspapers as well as 200 U.S. regional newspapers. It also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts.
An EBSCOhost database.
Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
NIST Chemistry WebBook
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology of the USA, this database provides data of thermochemistry (5,000 compounds), enthalpy of reaction (3,000 reactions), infrared spectra (5,000 compounds), mass spectra (8,000 compounds), ion energetics (14,000 compounds), etc. Data can be searched by name, chemical formula, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number, molecular weight, ionization energy, or proton affinity.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
NIST Data Gateway
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data that covers a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. Also includes links to selected free online NIST databases. One can search by keywords, properties and substances across a collection of NIST databases.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
NSSN: A Global Resource for Standards
[Open Access]
Contains over 250,000 references to standards from more than 600 developers worldwide. It includes industry, international and U.S. Government approved standards and standards under development.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
NTIS (1964-)
[Open Access]
The largest official source for U.S. government-sponsored information in the fields of science, engineering, business and social sciences. More than 600,000 records covering publications, technical reports, and multimedia files are searchable.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
OAIster
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides free access to a wide range of full-text resources made available by the academic community. You can search and retrieve books, journal articles, technical reports, preprints, theses, working papers, audio files, images, etc. by harvesting digital resources from over 100 research libraries and institutions worldwide.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
OSH References
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literatures on occupational safety and health. The Library subscribes to the following databases in this collection: HSELINE, NIOSHTIC, NIOSHTIC-2, OSHLINE, CISILO and CANADIANA. A CCOHS database.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
Ovid Databases
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to 26 reference titles published by the Oxford University Press. Most of them are dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities and social science subjects such as art, history, literature and geography.
Additional Categories: Reference Tools
Oxford English Dictionary (1992 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Provides the complete text of the printed version of Oxford English Dictionary. The dictionary contains many words which are now obsolete, as well as covering the broadest possible range of general and specialist vocabulary.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Journals
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to over 190 journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Reference Online
[Fulltext]
Consists of over 170 dictionaries and other reference works published by the Oxford University Press. In addition to English and bilingual dictionaries, subject coverage includes business and management, engineering, humanities and social sciences, and science. The database allows searching or browsing of all the works simultaneously or one title at a time.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Scholarship Online
[Fulltext]
Contains over 1,800 e-books in a variety of subjects with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Both browsing and full-text keyword searching are supported.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Patent Databases
[Fulltext]
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
People's Daily Index
Description
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
PerioPath: Index to Chinese Periodical Literature
See 中文期刊篇目索引影像系統.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Polymer Encyclopedia (1990 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Provides a comprehensive treatise on topics of polymer science, including the theory and practice of polymer engineering, the industrial production and use of polymers, and the basic concepts of polymer science. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Chemistry
Population Reference Bureau
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
A very rich information source on world population. Includes country profiles, data sheets and full-text reports on population, health, and environmental topics. Under DataFinder, there is also a searchable database with data on 95 demographic variables for more than 220 countries and 28 regions.
Additional Categories: Reference Tools->Facts and Statistics
Primary Search
[Fulltext]
Contains full text of more than 70 magazines appropriate for elementary school research. It also includes the Encyclopedia of Animals (formerly called EBSCO Animals). All articles are assigned a reading indicator (Lexiles). An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences
Professional Development Collection
[Fulltext]
This title is no longer available.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive) (1893-)
[Fulltext]
Is an online archive of articles from the following American Physical Society journals: Physical Review, Physical Review A to E and Reviews of Modern Physics.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest
[Fulltext]
Is a web-based service which provides users with seamless access to a large collection of citations and full-text/images of periodicals, magazines and newspapers in medical research, telecommunications and computer science, applied and general sciences, business, humanities and social sciences. Cross searching among the 21 databases is permissible. Emailing or downloading of full-text articles is also supported. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Management of Organizations, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest Computing
[Fulltext]
Indexes and abstracts over 250 top computing journals. Full-text/images are provided for some 95% of the titles. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (1861-)
Previously called ProQuest Digital Dissertations, the database contains over 2 million citations and abstracts to doctoral dissertations and master's theses accepted by 1,000 universities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Hong Kong, and other regions. It also provides 24-page previews of dissertations/theses published since 1997. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards. Free download of full-text image files is only restricted to business dissertations worldwide and HKUST PhD dissertations. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest Education Journals (1988-)
[Fulltext]
Provides bibliographic information on 650 periodicals on education, of which 400 are in full-text. The database covers not only primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
ProQuest Research Library
[Fulltext]
Previously called Health Module, this database covers information on physical and mental health, including medical conditions, substance abuse, insurance, health policy and more. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
PsycARTICLES (1988-)
[Fulltext]
Provides the full-images of articles from about 50 psychology journals published by the American
Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database supports both full-text searching and browsing by journal title. An OVID database. Search Guide See also PsycINFO.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Business and Management->Management of Organizations
PsycINFO (1806-)
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO provides more than 1.6 million citations with abstracts to the worldwide literature on psychology. Coverage includes all areas of psychology: experimental psychology, developmental psychology, applied psychology, educational psychology, communications, personality, physical and psychological disorders; and behavioral literature in related fields as law, business and medicine. Sources include over 1,300 journals as well as books, technical reports and dissertations. About 50,000 references are added annually. Records in this database are linked to the corresponding full text of the articles in PsycARTICLES. An OVID database.Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Business and Management->Management of Organizations
PubChem
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. It consists of three linked databases, PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay, within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Chemistry
PubMed
[Open Access]
Is the National Library of Medicine's free search service to access Medline and National Center for Biotechnology Information's databases. Medline contains citations and abstracts to articles in about 3,900 biomedical journals published worldwide, coverage dated back to 1966. NCBI's databases contain DNA sequences, protein sequences, biomolecule 3D structures and complete genomes.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
Reference
[Fulltext]
Contains the full-text of reference books: The Ethnic Cultures of America, Occupational Outlook Handbook and the World Factbook. A ProQuest database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
RefWorks
Is a web-based research management tool that allows users to build personal citation databases and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles: ACS, APA, CBE, MLA, Chicago, amongst others. References can be imported from text files or selected literature databases or added manually. Users can also create in-text references and footnotes within MS Word. First-time users are required to sign up for an individual account. Quick Start Guide. Online Tutorial. User Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Research Starters - Business
This title is no longer available.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Research Starters - Education
This title is no longer available.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Reuters Knowledge for Investment Banking
[Fulltext]
Contains in-depth financial information on over 40,000 companies worldwide, including company filings and financial reports, brokers' consensus
estimates, companies' business segment investment data and geographical allocation of the investment, market and industry overviews and lots more. Real-time global news and a 5-year archive of selected news content from Factiva are also available. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Company Information, Business and Management->Finance
Safari Books Online
[Fulltext]
Complementary to Books24x7, this database provides access to over 300 e-books in various business and information technology-related subjects. Most of them are published by O'Reilly Media and the Pearson Technology Group. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows emailing of book sections. It also provides links to download the zip files of programming/multimedia examples.
Additional Categories: Business and Management
Science Citation Index (1980-1999)
Provides bibliographic information to articles in more than 3,200 science periodicals. Abstracts are available starting from 1994. This database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, address, article title, journal title and cited author/reference. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) (1991-)
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 6,300 international science and engineering journals. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
ScienceDirect (2000-)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to 1,800 full-text journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates, including Academic Press, North-Holland and Pergamon. ScienceDirect has extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine. It also contains many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities. Over 400 e-books published in 2008 are also available. The database supports both full-text searching and browsing by title or broad subject areas.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
SciFinder Scholar
Provides integrated access to Chemical Abstracts
(1907-), Medline (1950-), CAS Registry (1907-),
CASReact (1840-), ChemCats, and ChemList. These databases together contain the citations and
abstracts to over 10,000 journals, as well as
patents, technical reports, conference proceedings,
and dissertations in chemistry, chemical engineering, and biomedicine. They also contain information on 27 million organic and inorganic substances, 57 million nucleic acid and protein sequences, 9 million single- and multi-step reactions, and 200,000 inventoried or regulated chemicals. Users can search by author, research topic, molecular formula, CAS Registry Number, chemical name, structure or reaction etc. Retrieved records are linked to free patent documents on the web and e-journals subscribed to by the Library.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry
Scirus
[Open Access]
Searches over 200 million science-specific Web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data, including peer-reviewed articles, patents, preprints, technical reports, etc. It incorporates both subscription and open access full-text scholarly literature such as arXiv.org, BioMed Central, Cogprints, government patent servers, Medline and NASA technical reports.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scitopia.org: Integrated Trusted Science & Technology Research
[Open Access]
A federated search portal to the digital libraries of 15 leading physical science and technology societies, e.g., IEEE, AIAA, AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, OSA and more. One can search over 3 million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content, conference papers, patents, government documents, spanning 150 years of science and technology. Search results automatically take the users to the full-text articles if the source is subscribed to by the user library or freely available on the Internet.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Scopus (1966-)
Provides bibliographic information and
abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals,
750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade
publications from over 4,000 international
publishers. Subject coverage includes science,
engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The
database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Most records in Scopus are linked to the corresponding original articles at the publishers' web sites. Full-text access is limited to the
publications for which the Library has an electronic subscription. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
SDC Platinum
[Fulltext]
SDC Platinum is a collection of financial databases which provides extensive worldwide information on M&A transactions, IPO and private placement new issues, venture funds, syndicated loans, private equity, project finance and more. The Library subscribes to three subsets including Merger and Acquisition (1979-), New Issues Databases (1970-) and VentureXpert (1969-). This database is only available in the Database Room on the Library G/F. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Business and Management->Company Information
Searching PAJ (Patent Abstracts of Japan)
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
The PAJ database provides full-image access to English translations of Japanese patents. It has over 6 million records with bibliographic data, summarized texts and major drawings. Users may also link to a facsimile of the original Japanese patent from the English version.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR)
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provided by the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission, this database contains the electronic filings that corporations are required by law to make with the SEC. The filings include company annual reports and prospectuses, and other reports.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Finance
Shakespeare Ondisc (1989 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains the complete text of Shakespeare's plays, poems and sonnets in both American and Queen's English version.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Sigma-Aldrich Material Safety Data Sheets
[Fulltext]
Contains about 80,000 Material Safety Data Sheets on chemicals submitted to the US Occupational Safety and Health Administration from Sigma, Aldrich, and Fluka chemical companies.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-1999)
Provides bibliographic information to articles in 1,400 social science periodicals, and selected articles from more than 3,300 science periodicals. Abstracts are available starting from 1994. This database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, address, article title, journal title and cited author/reference. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) (1991-)
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 1,800 international social sciences journals and selected relevant articles from 6,300 natural and physical science journals worldwide. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management
SourceOECD (1997-)
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to 1,200 books, reports, working papers, periodicals, and statistics published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) on its 30 members and other countries. A wide range of subjects are covered, including economics, education, environment, health, energy, industry, science and technology, etc. The database supports browsing and full-text searching. Statistics can be downloaded in excel format.
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences
SPIN Web (1975-)
Provides citations and abstracts to articles from over 100 journals and conference proceedings in physics, astronomy, and related disciplines.
Full-text access is limited to the titles for which the Library has an electronic subscription.
Additional Categories: Science->Alphabetical Listing
SpringerLink
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of 1,388 journals published by Springer, Kluwer, and Brill. Subjects covered include not only the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) fields, but also business, humanities and social sciences.
In addition, over 11,000 full-text ebooks published by Springer since 1997 are also available. Full-text access is limited to those titles purchased by the Library.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Economics, Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Testing & Education Reference Center
[Fulltext]
Comprises 6 sections: High School Tools, College Prep Tools, Career Tools, Graduate School Tools, International and Family College Planning Center which provide extensive career and education-related information in North America. Some unique resources are Resume Builder, Virtual Career Library (Under Career Tools--> Research Careers), Graduate School Search, Graduate Scholarship Search, and online practice tests and ebooks for TOEFL, GRE, GMAT, LSAT and many other graduate/college entrance examinations. Users need to create an account in TERC to access certain features such as viewing e-books and taking practice tests.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
The Serials Directory
[Fulltext]
Provides access to current bibliographic and pricing information for more than 212,000 U.S. and international serials. Publisher information, Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications are also included. An EBSCOhost database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
TOXLINE (1996-)
Provides over 4 million citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Sources include journals, books, reports, and theses. Different from the full TOXLINE, this version does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS , or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts. The database contains records from the last 5 years plus the current year on a rolling basis. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Engineering->Civil Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
TOXNET
[Open Access]
Free Web access to databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Major databases include Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), and Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS).
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Material Safety Data
TRIS Online
[Open Access]
A collaborative effort between the U.S. Department of Transportation, Transportation Research Board, and other organizations on transportation information. The database has 500,000 bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports, and government publications from the 1960's to the present.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Ulrich's Plus
Provides bibliographic, subject classification, and ordering information for approximately 160,000 selected periodicals and serials published in the United States and 188 other countries.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
USPTO Web Patent Databases
[Fulltext]
[Open Access]
Provided by the US Patent and Trademark Office, it contains full-text images of US patents from 1790 to present.
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Value Line Investment Survey Online
[Fulltext]
Complementary to the weekly print copy, this database not only covers the latest 13 issues of the Value Line Investment Survey, but also provides access to historical reports for approximately 1,700 U.S. companies and current overviews for 100 industries.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Business and Management->Company Information
Wall Street Journal
[Fulltext]
Contains the full-text of the last 90 days of the newspaper plus latest news update. Additional features include an archive of Barron's from
1997 to the present, and the provision of brief background descriptions, interactive stock charts, and news on over 20,000 US and international
companies. Information such as financial overviews and earning estimates is also available for US companies.
Additional Categories: News
Web of Science (1991-)
Provides web access to Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. The former covers 6,300 international science and engineering journals. The latter covers 1,800 social science and business journals worldwide. In addition to bibliographic information and abstracts, these two indexes also contain the references cited in the articles. The database can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Weldasearch (1967-)
Contains abstracts to journal articles, research reports, books, standards, patents, and theses in the areas of joining metals, plastics and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Westlaw International
[Fulltext]
Is an extensive legal database which provides full-text legislation, case law and law reviews covering the jurisdictions of Hong Kong, the United Kingdom, United States, the European Union, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. Treaties and international agreements are also included. Content highlights include: Hong Kong Law Reports and Digest (1905-) and Hong Kong Latest Judgment Alert Service (1999-); UK statutes (1267-) and UK cases (1865-); US federal/state codes and cases; Hundreds of full-text law reviews, mostly US ; Legal Journals Index which provides citations and abstracts of over 800 law journals published in the UK and Europe (1986-). Search Guide
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences->Law and Legal Studies
Wiley Electronic Major Reference Works (Wiley eMRWs)
[Fulltext]
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
[Fulltext]
Contains 350 peer-reviewed articles and over 2,000 tables, figures, and illustrations, incorporating the fundamentals of life, engineering, mathematical, and information sciences with the methodologies and systems of biomedical engineering. Subject areas covered include biochemical engineering, biomedical education, biomedical devices and instrumentation, human performance and reverse engineering, rehabilitation and orthopedic engineering. A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Interscience
[Fulltext]
Provides integrated access to the full-text of over 1,100 journals published by Blackwell Publishing as well as citations and abstracts of hundreds of journals, reference works, and books published by John Wiley & Sons.
Full-text access to Wiley publications is restricted to 450 journals, 380 books and 10 major reference works for which the Library has a subscription.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
WIPS (Worldwide Intellectual Property Search) (1976-)
[Fulltext]
Provides English abstracts and full-text/images in the original language of patents and patent applications published by the US, European, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean patent offices
as well as the World Intellectual Property Organization. This database offers a number of advanced features, such as save query, my folder, patent mapping and clustering, and citation analysis, which are not available in open access
patent databases. User Manual
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
World Consumer Markets (1997-)
[Fulltext]
Contains volume and value sales statistics for over 330 consumer products across 52 countries worldwide. It also covers a wide range of socio-economic parameters, including advertising and media, consumer expenditures, retail distribution, communications, demographic trends, economic indicators, household facilities, etc. Search results can be displayed in html or spreadsheet format. It is formerly called Global Market Information Database.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
World Consumer Markets on CD-ROM (1997/8 ed.)
[Fulltext]
The CD-ROM version of the print handbooks by Euromonitor, Consumer Europe 1997, Consumer Eastern Europe 1997/8, and Consumer International 1997/8. It contains volume and value market sizes for over 256 consumer products sectors across 56 countries. Demographic and economic trends are also covered. The time series span the period 1991-1996. Search results are displayed in spreadsheet format. The database has built-in functions for users to produce charts or perform calculations. For current data, please use World Consumer Markets.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
World Data (1994 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Provides World Bank data for over 200 countries, plus more than 700 time series on national accounts, balance of payments, trade external debt and finance, social and natural resources, including the current Social Indicators of Development, World Debt Tables and World Tables data.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Country Information, Business and Management->Economics, Reference Tools->Facts and Statistics
World Development Indicators on CD-ROM (1997 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains 500 time series of development indicators for over 200 countries, covering the years 1970 to 1995 in most cases. Data can be retrieved by selecting the interested countries, indicators, and years. The database supports downloading data in ASCII, Excel, SAS, or Dbase format.
Additional Categories: Reference Tools->Facts and Statistics
WorldAlmanac (1998-)
[Fulltext]
Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts and statistics from these five sources: Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, the World Almanac and Book of Facts, the World Almanac of the U.S.A., the World Almanac of U.S. Politics and the World Almanac for Kids.
A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
WorldCat
[Open Access]
This open access version of the WorldCat union catalog provides access to millions of bibiographic records contributed by thousands of OCLC member libraries worldwide. Books, journals, Internet resources and virtually any type of materials are included. It supports searching by keyword, title, author, ISBN and several limiting
options, and provides links to the catalogs of the holding libraries.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
WorldCat via FirstSearch
Is a union catalog holding millions of bibliographic records contributed by thousands of OCLC member libraries worldwide. Books, journals, Internet resources and virtually any
type of materials are included. In addition to the search and catalog linking functions found in the open access WorldCat, it also supports a number of
advanced search, display and export features.
A FirstSearch database. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
[Fulltext]
Provides information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
A Gale Virtual Reference Library title.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Worldscope via Datastream
[Fulltext]
Provides annual and interim/quarterly data, detailed historical financial statement content, per share data, calculated ratios, pricing and textual information for more than 50,000 companies incorporated in over 70 countries. Access via Datastream in the Database Room on Library G/F
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Accounting, Business and Management->Company Information
Worldwide Intellectual Property Search
[Fulltext]
Description
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
Worldwide Standards Services (1998 ed.)
[Fulltext]
Contains the comprehensive index of U.S. Standards, non-U.S. National Standards, and International Standards. Full-text images of British Standards and International Standards Organization standards are available. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Science->Science->Patents and Standards
last updated: 17-Nov-2009 - 15:12:08
Links Engine 2.0 By: Gossamer Threads Inc.
© HKUST Library