HKUST Library Collections Banner

[Chinese Year of the Ox]

Psychology of Adolescence and Adulthood (SOSC 200J)

1. Selected Books and Media

Books

Adolescent psychological development: rationality, morality, and identity
(E-Resources BF724 .M67 2005)
Blackwell handbook of adolescence
(E-Resources BF724 .B487 2005)
Concepts and theories of human development
(E-Resources BF713 .L47 2002)
Developmental psychology : a student's handbook
(BF721 .H263 2002)
The Gale encyclopedia of childhood & adolescence
(HQ772 .G27 1998)
Growing up : a cross-cultural encyclopedia
(HQ767.84 .B76 1995)
Not grown up forever : a Chinese conception of adolescent development
(BF724 .L33 2007)

Media

Adolescence, the prolonged transition
(Media HQ767.9 .W675 1994)
Discovering psychology
(Media BF121 .D57 2001 disc 5 - Maturing and aging)
Seasons of life
(Media HQ774 .S4 1990 pt. 1-5)
The stimulating world of psychology
(Media BF121 .S85 2007 - section 3 - Personality and development)
The Up series
(Media BF713 .U6 2004)

2. Finding Articles

In these databases, we will practice:

  • Key-word searching
  • Combining terms
  • Emailing or saving articles
  • Exporting or saving citations
Academic Search Premier - an EbscoHost database
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Scopus
Proquest
PsycINFO

3. Search the Library Catalog

Use these suggested subject headings when you search the Library Catalog.



Also try browsing these call numbers:


4. Making Citations - APA Style

When writing a paper, you must make citations for works you have read and used.

These resources may help you:

  • The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001)
Writing papers in psychology : a student guide
(BF76.7 .R67 1995)
Your undergraduate psychology project : a BPS guide
(BF76.5 .F68 2004)

Do not forget to cite your sources! Consider using Refworks to keep your references in order & insert them into your paper. The RefWorks User Guide will help.

Citation Machine
A free E-Resources source that allows you to cut and paste information into boxes and automatically generate a citation. It's simpler and more basic than RefWorks.

Examples of Citations

Chinese Language Book
傅榮 (1995). 性格與人生. 台北市 : 書泉出版社.

English language Book.

Lew, W. J. F. (1998). Understanding the Chinese personality : parenting, schooling, values, morality, relations, and personality.   Lewiston, NY : Edwin Mellen Press.

Article from a Journal
Allison, A. (1991). Japanese Mothers and bentos: the Lunch-box as State Ideological Apparatus. Anthropological Quarterly, 64 (4), 195-208.

Articles from Newspapers found in databases

柳扶風 (2005). 性格缺陷足以致命. 東方日報 八月14日, 2005. Section B (龍門陣), p. 8. Retrieved September 7, 2005 from WiseNews database.

Osterman, R. (2005). Personality Tests Questioned: Employers want to avoid bad hires, but critics doubt testing can predict job performance. The Sacramento Bee, April 14, 2005, Business Section, p. D 1. Retrieved September 7, 2005 from LexisNexis database.

Article from a Journal from a Database

Pennisi, E. (1999). Did cooked tubers spur the evolution of big brains. Science 283 (5410), 2004-2005. Retrieved December 19, 2000 from ProQuest database

Article or Chapter in a Book

Potter, J.M. (1978). Cantonese Shamanism. In Wolf, A.P. (Ed.) Studies in Chinese Society (pp.321-345). Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press.

Webpage

Hong Kong Department of Health. (2004). Health Indicators. Annual Report 2003/04, Chapter 1, p. 3-5. Retrieved February 3, 2008 from http://www.dh.gov.hk/english/pub_rec/pub_rec_ar/pdf/0304/ch01.02.pdf

Video Clip from website

Sesay, I. (2008). Conflicts in Africa. CNN Video, added on February 2, 2008. Retrieved from http://edition.cnn.com/video/#/video/world/2008/02/02/sesay.intv.woods.africa.conflicts.cnn, February 4, 2008.

last modified 02 October 2009
© HKUST Library