HKUST Library Collections Banner

[Chinese Year of the Ox]

China-United States Relations (SOSC 134)

1. Library Catalog

Use the Library Catalog to search for books held in the Library. Other materials such as journals, newspapers, digital and audio-visual resources can also be discovered in the Catalog. However, you must use appropriate databases to look for journal articles.

Start with a broad search

Use Word/Phrase search. Just type in a word or a phrase in each of the search boxes and select the connector: AND, OR. Look at more search tips for sample search statements. To learn more about keyword search, check here.

Find more precise results

Suppose, you find this useful book:
Crisis on the Korean peninsula : how to deal with a nuclear North Korea
Scroll down to Subject and click on United States -- Foreign relations -- Korea (North)

If necessary, use HKALL to borrow books not available in our Library.

2. Selected Library Sources

Search the Library Catalog for these subject headings:

Brain drain -- China
China -- Commerce -- United States
China -- Emigration and immigration
China -- Foreign Economic Relations -- United States
China -- Foreign Relations -- United States
China -- Relations -- United States
Chinese -- Foreign countries
Intercountry adoption
Monetary policy -- China
National security -- United States
Nationalism -- China
Nuclear nonproliferation
Nuclear weapons
Terrorism -- Prevention
Xinjiang (China) -- Politics and government
150年中美关系史论著目录, 1823-1990 = 150 years' bibliography of Sino-American relations, 1823-1990
(E183.8.C6 A17 2005)
中美关系的轨跡 : 1993年-2000年大事纵览
(E183.8.C6 L582 2001)
中華人民共和國年鑑
(Reference DS779.15 .C492)
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. United States--China relations, 1940-1949
(Microfilm E183.8.C6 U5234 1984)
International relations : a concise companion
(E-Resources JZ1161 .W45 2002)

3. Location of Materials

The Library classifies all its materials by the Library of Congress classification system. It is an alpha-numeric system.

Books from classes A-P are located on LG4.

Current and back issues of print periodicals in all classes (A-Z) are located on LG1.

4. Databases

Databases index journal and newspapers articles not available via the Library Catalog or Web search engines. Some databases give full-text articles, but some only give bibliographic citations or abstracts.

Suppose you discover this article:
Hanke, Steve H. "Reflections on exchange rate regimes," CATO Journal, vol. 18, no. 3 (1999): p. 335-344.

If the database does not give full-text:

Either use WebBridge

  1. Click the golden WebBridge button.
  2. A new window opens, follow the links given (i.e., under Journal Articles or Library Catalogs) to locate the full-text.
  3. If still no full-text, choose HKUST ILLiad to obtain the article via InterLibary Loan.

Or use Library Catalog

  1. Search by title.
  2. Do not type article title, i.e., Reflections on exchange rate regimes. You will certainly get zero hit.
  3. Instead, type the publication title in which the article appears, i.e., Cato Journal.
  4. Carefully check the year coverage. The article may be available in print, electronic or microforms format.

A full list of social sciences databases is available from: Library home page-> Databases-> Humanities & Social Sciences.

Selected Databases
九十年代 = Jiu Shi Nian Dai
中國資訊 = China InfoBank
中國期刊全文數據庫 = CAJ Full-Text Database
改革開放二十年重要文獻庫 = Gaige Kaifang Ershi Nian Zhongyao Wenxianku
明報月刊合訂本 = Ming Pao Monthly
香港報章剪報目錄 = Hong Kong Newspaper Clippings Index
電子剪報 = WiseNews
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) (1991-)
EbscoHost Research Databases (ASP / BSP)
EconLit
LexisNexis Academic
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Scopus
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Sociological Abstracts

5. Tips to Refine Search

To Broaden
To Narrow
 To Create Sets
Use OR to connect related terms or synonyms
e.g., spy or espionage

Use AND to connect different concepts
e.g., human rights and child labor

Type related terms or synonyms in the same search box and combine boxes with AND

Change long phrases into shorter ones
e.g., xinjiang turkestan separatists -> xinjiang separatists
Use phrases instead of single words
e.g., nuclear -> nuclear weapons

Use truncation symbol (* ?) to catch variant endings
e.g., terrori* will get terrorist, terrorists, terrorism

Use proximity operators to specify maximum word distance between terms,
e.g., freedom w/25  religio*


6. Internet Resources

Information Strategies for Research Assignments will be useful if you need help writing up your research.

Here are some FREE resources on the Web that you might want to browse:

人民網 = People
Includes 21 newspapers in 人民日報報系. Also available in Big5, English, Japanese, French, Spanish. Its searchable database covers archive since 1995. Better viewed with Internet Explorer.

Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the USA
Check under China-US Relations and Economy and Trade.

U.S. Consulate General Hong Kong and Macau: US and China
Provides links organized under Diplomatic Relations, Trade and Investments, Human Rights, Narcotics and Trafficking in Persons.

U.S. Department of State: Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs
This is the official U.S. government site containing reports and statements on U.S. relations with the countries in the Asia-Pacific region, including China and Hong Kong SAR.

White Papers via LawInfoChina
Contains official position papers from China on many issues, e.g., National Defence, Human Rights, Intellectual Property Protection.

last modified 18 February 2010
© HKUST Library