Management Policy (MGTO 541)
Objective:
This note attempts to provide resources necessary
for the Strategic Analysis project of the course. In conducting such an
analysis, we need to examine the current position of the company, including
its strengths and weaknesses, opportunities and threats (SWOT), its strategy, financial performance, industry, competitors, market environments, etc. before designing implementation strategy. The following suggests sources on these internal and external environments on companies.
Contents:
- Company annual reports
- Company web pages or literature
- Company directories
- Financial databases
- Company news and announcements
- Industry and market research reports
- Statistics
- Subject specialists
- Internet resources
1.1 Hong Kong
Provide financial data and business reviews of publicly listed companies. Private companies usually do not publish or release their annual reports.
Current annual reports are kept in Reserve. Search the Library Catalog:
e.g.,
| Type of Search |
Examples |
| Author search |
China Light and Power
Hang Seng Bank |
| Title search |
hong kong company annual report |
| Call number search |
HF5263.A4 (Display author and title) |
- Hong Kong Listed Companies: Annual/Interim Reports
- (Database Room)
- Provide annual reports (1996-) of listed companies in Hong Kong.
- HKEx = 香港交易所
- Hong Kong Exchange provides "Listed Companies Information Search" which gives the annual reports of all listed companies in Hong Kong for the last 3 years.
- LCAR (Listed Companies Annual Reports)
- (Microfilm HF5263.A3 L35)
- Provide past annual reports (1980-95) of listed companies in Hong Kong. The paper index is available at the Reference Counter and in the Microforms Room.
1.2 U.S.
SEC EDGAR Database
This site allows you to retrieve publicly available filings submitted
to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission from January 1994 to the
present.
- SEC File
- (Index in Reference HG4028.B2 C74, Microform HG4028.B2 C74, 1981-1997)
Many companies maintain their own web pages:
2.1 Company Web Pages
Yahoo!
Hong Kong Companies
HKUST Library - Library Resources - Pathfinders - Company
Information
Irasia.com: The Website For
Asia's Financial Markets
A website designed for professional fund managers worldwide to access
valuable resources on South East Asia's listed companies, including annual
and interim reports, company profiles, stock quotes, charts and news.
Use an Internet Search Engine such as Google, Alta Vista or a Meta-Search Engine such as MetaCrawler.
2.2 Career Center
The
Career Center,
Rm 4001, has employment information and company pamphlets on major employers
recruiting on campus.
- HKUST Library - Library Resources - Pathfinders - Company
Information
- International directory of company histories.
- (Reference HD2721 .I63)
Disclosure Corporate Snapshots
provides corporate and financial information on more than 12,000 corporations
whose shares are traded in the United States.
Reuters 3000Xtra
A major database used by the international financial and investment community. It covers major products traded in 166 exchanges around the world including stocks, warrants, options, futures and indices, plus 500,000 bonds, 175 currencies and a vast range of economic indicators. Both current and historical data of up to 20 years are covered. Also included are company profiles with financial statements of the past 10 to 15 years, and 2 years of international business and financial news. Spreadsheet and charting facilities are available for data extraction and manipulation. In addition to the Web version, this database is also available via the standalone stations in the Database Room on the Library G/F.
Reuters Knowledge for Investment Banking
Contains in-depth financial information on over 40,000 companies worldwide, including company filings and financial reports, brokers' consensus estimates, companies' business segment investment data and geographical allocation of the investment, market and industry overviews and lots more. Real-time global news and a 5-year archive of selected news content from Factiva are also available.
Worldscope Global provides
business and financial information on 12,000 of the world's largest companies
representing nearly 50 countries.
5.1 Electronic Databases
BPO (1986-) provide citations and full-text to articles on management
topics and on companies.
(Database Room)
Sample Search:
In BPO, use company index. E.g.,
co(microsoft corp) and su(strategy or strategic)
co(microsoft corp) and su(technological or social or political or economic)
su(motion picture industry) and su(trends)
China InfoBank covers China's
news, business and legal information. It offers access to a number of full-text
Chinese language databases covering a wide range of information such as:
business news from 600 leading local newspapers (1992-); business journals
and government survey reports (1995-); news and reports of publicly listed
companies (1993- ); contact and background information from 180,000 companies;
current data on China's stock prices, RMB exchange rate and inter-bank
interest rate (1997- ); China central and municipal laws and regulations
(1949-); structure and functions of Chinese government agencies; and biographies
on leading government officials and famous personalities.
Ebscohost provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily.
HKTDC.com is maintained by the Hong Kong Trade Development Council. It is a searchable database of 120,000 Hong Kong business contacts, from manufacturers and exporters, to importers and service companies, including details of 18,000 brands owned or represented by Hong Kong companies. Besides contact information, more detailed information includes year of establishment, number of staff, products and services, areas of specialisation, related companies within and outside Hong Kong, and its target markets.
LexisNexis Academic offers
news from about 5,000 English language sources, including US and international
newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and broadcast
transcripts. Many sources are full-text. It also provides access to corporate
profiles, SEC documents, country profiles, and business directories. Legal
materials covered include US statutes, federal and state law cases and
law reviews.
Sample Search:
Choose Business, then Business News or Industry.
ProQuest provides users
with seamless access to a large collection of citations and full-text/images
of periodicals, magazines and newspapers in business, telecommunications
and computer science, applied and general sciences, humanities and social
sciences. Cross searching among the 17 databases is permissible.
WiseNews provides the full-text
of articles from South China Morning Post, Hong Kong Imail and 15 local
Chinese language newspapers: Apple Daily, Hong Kong Commercial Daily, Hong
Kong Daily News, Hong Kong Economic Times, Hong Kong Globe, Ming Pao, Oriental
Daily News, Sing Pao, Sing Tao Daily, The Sun, Ta Kung Po, Tin Tin Daily
News and Wen Wei Po. Articles of 23 local magazines and over 240 newspapers
and magazines from China and Taiwan are also available.
6.1 Using Library Catalog to locate industry reports available at HKUST
You can locate industry reports and statistics by doing a subject search
in the Library Catalog:
Some Hong Kong industry reports include the following:
- Hong Kong economy yearbook
- (Reference HC470.3.A1 H75)
- Hong Kong Productivity Council annual report.
- (Reference HC470.3.A1 H67)
- How competitive is the private residential property market?
- (HD943.2 .H68 1996)
- Industry norm.
- (HF3851 .I63 1993)
- Profiles of Hong Kong's major industries.
- (HF3852.T72 H85 P76 1994)
- Report on ... annual survey of building, construction & real estate
sectors.
- (Reference HD9715.H6 S9)
- Techno-economic and market research study on Hong Kong's electronics
industry 1998-99.
- (Reference HD9696.A3 H857 1999)
- Techno-economic and market research study on Hong Kong's metals and
light engineering industry 1996-97.
- (HD9736.H85 T43 1996/97)
- Techno-economic and market research study on Hong Kong's plastic industry.
- (Reference HD9661.H85 T43)
- Techno-economic and market research study on Hong Kong's textiles, clothing
and footwear industries 2000.
- (Reference HD9866.H85 T43 2001)
Some U.S. industry reports are:
- Standard & Poor's industry surveys.
- (Periodical HC106.6 .S74)
- U.S. industry profiles: USIP : the leading 100.
- (Reference HD2771 .U8 1995)
6.2 Contact with Industry and Trade Associations
- Encyclopedia of associations. 3 vols.
- (Reference AS22 .E5)
- Associations & societies in Hong Kong.
- (Reference AS457.A7 A77)
- Directory of Professional Associations and Learned Societies.
- (Reference AS457.A7 D57)
6.3 Electronic Databases
(see 5.1 above)
National Trade Data Bank (1995-) provides international trade
information compiled by 15 U.S. federal agencies. It provides a wide range
of trade related information for over 100 countries, including market research
reports; reports on demographic, political and socio-economic conditions;
trade statistics; commercial guides; industry specific business opportunities;
business directories and calendars of trade events.
(Database Room)
7.1 Demographic Statistics
Hong Kong
- Hong Kong annual digest of statistics.
- (Reference HA4651.H64)
- Hong Kong monthly digest of statistics.
- (Reference HA4651.H65)
- Hong Kong economic trends.
- (Reference HC470.3.H96)
- Hong Kong population projections, 1997-2016.
- (HB3657.A3 H65)
- Hong Kong social and economic trends.
- (Reference HA4651.H66)
- Hong Kong's trade outlook for ...
- (HF3851 .H66)
- Hong Kong review of overseas trade.
- (Reference HF3851.H627 1990)
- Report on half-yearly business prospects survey.
- (Reference HC470.3.A1 R45)
- Report on monthly survey of retail sales.
- (Reference HF5429.6.H85 R47)
- Review of Hong Kong's trade.
- (HF3851 .R48)
- Survey of wholesales, retail & import/export trades, restaurants
& hotels.
- (Reference HF3851.S96)
Asia and International
- World Consumer Market
contains volume and value sales statistics for over 330 consumer products
across 52 countries worldwide. It also covers a wide range of socio-economic
parameters, including advertising and media, consumer expenditures, retail
distribution, communications, demographic trends, economic indicators,
household facilities, etc.
- Key indicators of developing Asian and Pacific countries.
- (Reference HC411.A754)
- Political risk yearbook. Asia & the Pacific.
- (Reference JQ21.A1 P64)
- Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Pacific
- (Reference HA4551.S73)
- World tables.
- (HC59.W68)
Tip: Use appropriate subject headings in searching the Library Catalog:
Examples:
7.2 Marketing Statistics
- Asian market atlas.
- (Reference G2201.G1 B8 1991)
- China market atlas.
- (HC427.92.C46455 1992)
- China markets yearbook.
- (Reference HC427.92 .C4648)
- Consumer Asia.
- (HD7048 .C68 1993)
- Consumer Eastern Europe.
- (HD7022.9 C68)
- Consumer Europe.
- (HD7022 .C68 1993)
- Consumer product and manufacturer ratings 1961-1990 2 vol.
- (TX335.C659 1993)
- European marketing data and statistics.
- (Reference HA1107 .E87)
- Hong Kong market atlas.
- (HC470.3 .T68 1990)
- International marketing data and statistics.
- (Reference HA154 .I56)
- Market share reporter.
- (Reference HF5410 .M35)
- Retail monitor international.
- (Periodical HF5428 .R47)
- World market share reporter.
- (Reference HF5410 .W67)
Interview or talk to company or industry specialists.
HKUST Library - Internet Resources - Business & Management - Management of Organizations
HKUST Library - Internet Resources - Business & Management - Marketing
HKUST Library - Internet Resources - Web
Directories and Search Engines - [select a Search Engine or Directory]
last modified
17 December 2009
© HKUST Library