HKUST Library Collections Banner

[Chinese Year of the Ox]

Film Studies

Scope: This guide highlights general film resources available at HKUST Library and on the Web. Resources on particular films, directors, actors/actresses will not be covered.

Finding Library Materials:

Classification System

In the Library collection, most materials on film are shelved in these Library of Congress call numbers:

PN1993-1999
Motion pictures

The Media Resources Department on LG1 houses an extensive collection of award-winning feature films. Here is the HKUST classification for feature films:

PN1997.A12
English language drama
PN1997.A122
European language drama
PN1997.A123
Chinese language drama
PN1997.A124
Asian language drama
PN1997.A125
African language drama
PN1997.A13
English language comedy
PN1997.A132
European language comedy
PN1997.A133
Chinese language comedy
PN1997.A134
Asian language comedy
PN1997.A15
Science fiction
PN1997.A152
European language science fiction
PN1997.A16
Musicals
PN1997.A162
European language musicals
PN1997.A17
Animation
PN1997.A174
Asian language animation

Subject Headings

In the Library Catalog, do subject searches on the following subject headings:

Film genres:

Works on individuals:

Type name, with surname first, e.g.,
Hitchcock, Alfred
Kurosawa, Akira
Wong, Kar-wai

Other search tips are available from the Guide to the Library Catalog.

Reference Tools:

Bibliographies

中国电影研究书目提要 = An annotated bibliography for Chinese film studies
(Z5784.M9 C46 2004)
Australian film : a bibliography
(PN1993.5.A8 R45 1997)
Chinese cinema : five bibliographies
(PN1993.5.C4 L466 2003 )
Film study : an analytical bibliography
(PN1994 .M34 1990)

Databases

Arts & Humanities Search
ProQuest
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)

Dictionaries

中国电影大辞典 = China cinema encyclopaedia
(PN1993.5.C4 C5369 1995)
英汉・汉英电影词典 = English-Chinese Chinese-English film dictionary
(Reference PN1993.45 .Y56 2000)
Critical dictionary of film and television theory
(Reference PN1993.45 .C75 2001)
Dictionary of film terms : the aesthetic companion to film analysis
(Reference TR847 .B43 1994)
International dictionary of films and filmmakers
(Reference PN1997.8 .I58 1990)

Directories

製作通訊錄 = Production directory / Hong Kong Film Services Office
(Reference PN1993 .F55)
Movie musicals on record : a directory of recordings of motion picture musicals, 1927-1987
(Reference ML156.4.M6 L9 1989)

Encyclopedias

中国影片大典 = Encyclopedia of Chinese films
(PN1993.5.C4 Z57 1996)
Encyclopedia of Chinese film
(Reference PN1993.5.C4 Z53 1998)
The encyclopedia of film
(Reference PN1993.45 .M638 1991 )
Encyclopedia of film themes, settings, and series
(Reference PN1997.8 .A762 2001)
Encyclopaedia of Indian cinema
(Oversize PN1993.5.I8 R33 1994)
The encyclopedia of novels into film
(Reference PN1997.85 .T54 1998)
The film encyclopedia
(Reference PN1993.45 .K34 1994)

Handbooks & Guides

1995年有關電影檢查的檢查員指引 = Film censorship guidelines for censors 1995
(Reference PN1995.65.H85 A16 1995)
香港電影拍攝指南 = Guide to filming in Hong Kong
(PN1993.5.C6 G85)
Film quotations : 11,000 lines spoken on screen, arranged by subject, and indexed
(Reference PN1994.9 .N69 1994)
Guide to British cinema
(Reference PN1993.5.G7 M327 2003)
Halliwell's film, video & DVD guide
(Reference PN1993.45 .H273)
How to read a film [DVD]
(Media Resources PN1994 .M589 2000)
Variety international film guide
(Reference PN1993.3 .I544)

Indexes

全国报刊电影文章目录索引, 1980-1989
(PN1993.5.C4 C47 1994)
The film anthologies index
(Reference (PN1994 .B69 1994)
Film literature index
(Reference PN1993 .F45)
The International film index, 1895-1990
(Reference PN1998 .I52 1991)

Internet Resources

Internet Resources--> Humanities and Social Sciences--> Performing Arts

中文電影資料庫 = Chinese Movie Database
The database contains information on Chinese-language movies including silent films produced in China from 1910 to 1930. Biographies of renowned actors and actresses, reviews, and news on awards are also provided.

台灣電影資料庫 = The Database of Taiwan Cinema
Contains a search engine for Taiwan films, related books and news.

Internet Movie Database
Over 120,000 movies with more than 1,750,000 filmography entries are covered in this database. Information associated with the movies, such as plot summaries, character names, ratings, and reviews, is listed in detail.

Periodicals

All Formats (Print, Electronic, Microform)
Library Home Page -> Library Catalog -> Subject -> Motion pictures periodicals | Motion pictures china periodicals | Experimental films periodicals |

Reference Topics:

Awards & Festivals

The 25th Hong Kong International Film Festival : 6-21.4.2001 = 第廿五屆香港國際電影節 : 6-21.4.2001
(PN1993.4 .H66 2001)
The Academy Awards index : the complete categorical and chronological record
(PN1993.92 .S53 1993)
Award winning films : a viewer's reference to 2700 acclaimed motion pictures
(Reference PN1993.9 .M68 1994)
Hong Kong panorama : the ... Hong Kong International Film Festival
(PN1993.5.C4 H65)
International film prizes : an encyclopedia
(Reference PN1993.4 .H28 1991)
The Oscar A to Z : complete guide to more than 2,400 movies nominated for Academy Awards
(PN1993.92 .M38 1995)

Biography

British film actors' credits, 1895-1987
(Reference PN1998.2 .P3 1988)
Contemporary authors : a bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields
(Reference Z1224 .C6)
Contemporary British and Irish film directors : a wallflower critical guide
(Reference PN1998.2 .C66 2001)
Directory of Eastern European film-makers and films 1945-1991
(Reference PN1998.2 .D55 1992)
The Hollywood who's who : the actors and directors in today's Hollywood
(Reference PN1998.2 .W46 1993)
Motion picture players' credits : worldwide performers of 1967 through 1980 with filmographies of their entire careers, 1905-1983
(Reference PN1998 .O55 1991)
Quinlan's Illustrated registry of film stars
(Reference PN1998.2 .Q56 1991)
The Wallflower critical guide to contemporary North American directors
(Reference PN1998.2 .W385 2000)
Who's who in Hollywood : the largest cast of international film personalities ever assembled
(Reference PN1998.2 .R34 1992)

Chronology

外国电影艺术百年, 1895-1995 = A hundred years of foreign film art, 1895-1995
(PN1993.5.A1 W35 1996)
Cinema year by year, 1894-2002
(Reference PN1993.5.A1 C56 2002)

Filmography

香港影片大全 = Hong Kong filmography
(Reference PN1993.5.C4 X53 1997)
The American Film Institute catalog of motion pictures produced in the United States
(Reference PN1998 .A57 1988)
The Chinese filmography : the 2444 feature films produced by studios in the People's Republic of China from 1949 through 1995
(Reference PN1993.5.C4 M37 1997)
The films of the eighties : a complete, qualitative filmography to over 3400 feature-length English language films, theatrical and video-only, released between January 1, 1980, and December 31, 1989
(PN1998 .N78 1991)
The Hong Kong filmography, 1977-1997 : a complete reference to 1,100 films produced by British Hong Kong studios
(Reference PN1993.5.C4 C432 2000)
The Japanese filmography : a complete reference to 209 filmmakers and the over 1250 films released in the United States, 1900 through 1994
(PN1993.5.J3 G35 1996)
Latin American films, 1932-1994 : a critical filmography
(PN1995.9.L37 S38 1997)

Genres

Animated Films

American animated films : the silent era, 1897-1929
(NC1766.U5 G54 1990)
The animated film encyclopedia : a complete guide to American shorts, features and sequences, 1900-1979
(Reference NC1765 .W43 2000)
The anime encyclopedia : a guide to Japanese animation since 1917
(NC1766.J3 C53 2001)

Biographical Films

From real life to reel life : a filmography of biographical films
(Reference PN1995.9.B55 K37 1993)

Documentary Films

中国独立纪录片档案
(PN1995.9.D6 M46 2004)
Making documentary films and reality videos : a practical guide to planning, filming, and editing documentaries of real events
(PN1995.9.D6 H26 1997)
Western civilization : a critical guide to documentary films
(CB245 .H45 1996)

Film Noir

Film Noir : an encyclopedic reference to the American style
(PN1995.9.F54 F54 1992)

Horror and Fantasy Films

The A-Z of horror films
(PN1995.9.H6 M3245 1997)
Cyborgs, Santa Claus, and Satan : science fiction, fantasy, and horror films made for television
(PN1995.9.S26 S46 2000)
Fantastic cinema subject guide : a topical index to 2500 horror, science fiction, and fantasy films
(Reference PN1995.9.F36 S46 1992)
Science fiction, fantasy, and horror reference : an annotated bibliography of works about literature and film
(PN3433.5 .J86 1989)

Martial Arts Films

江湖未定 : 當代武俠電影的域境論述
(PN1993.5.H6 J53 2002)
Kung fu cult masters
(PN1995.9.H3 H86 2003)

Silent and Musical Films

A guide to silent westerns
(PN1995.9.W4 L33 1992)
Movie musicals on record : a directory of recordings of motion picture musicals, 1927-1987
(Reference ML156.4.M6 L9 1989)

Organisations

Reviews

世界电影鉴赏辞典
(Reference PN1997.8 .S5 1991)
世界电影鉴赏辞典 : 三编
(Reference PN1997.8 .S522 1995)
香港電影回顧
(PN1993.5.C4 X528)
香港電影評論學會 = Hong Kong Film Critics Society
香港影評人協會 = Hong Kong Film Critics Association
Film review index
(Reference PN1995 .F54 1986)
Movie Review Query Engine
The New York times film reviews
(Reference PN1995 .N4 1987-2000)
Rotten Tomatoes

last modified 29 September 2009
© HKUST Library