1. Types of Chemical Literature
Primary literature-- reports original ideas and first-hand research
findings. Examples : journal articles, conference papers, dissertations or master
theses, technical reports and patents.
Secondary literature -- organizes, analyzes, evaluates, and
repackages new information reported by researchers in primary literature.
Examples : review articles in journals, review serials, textbooks,
dictionaries, encyclopedias, treatises, handbooks and data compilations.
Depending on the effort involved in their compilation, the various
secondary works require different periods of time to repackage new knowledge.
-
Review articles or review serials: one or more years after the new primary works
appear.
- Textbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, treatises, handbooks and data compilations: two or more years after the new primary works appear.
2. Library Classification System
The HKUST Library uses the US Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving
arrangements. The main Chemistry literature can be located in the Class
QD. But it is important to remember that Chemistry materials can also be
found in related areas such as Class Q (Science General), T (Technology-General),
QC (Physics), and TP (Chemical Technology). The following are subdivisions
of the Class QD and the locations of various types of materials.
| Chemistry (General) |
QD1-65 |
| Analytical Chemistry |
QD71-142 |
| Inorganic Chemistry |
QD146-197 |
| Organic Chemistry |
QD241-441 |
| Physical and Theoretical Chemistry |
QD450-801 |
| Crystallography |
QD901-999 |
|
| Books, call numbers Q-Z |
LG3 |
| Reference Books |
G/F |
| Periodicals |
LG1 |
| Media Resources and Microforms |
LG1 |
| HKUST Dissertations and Theses |
1/F |
3. Library Catalogs
Note: Library Catalogs do not allow searching to the article level. Use databases if you want to
search for journal articles.
Search this Catalog for materials (e.g., books, journals, magazines, newspapers, theses etc.)
in all formats (e.g., print, electronic, microform, audio-visual) collected by the HKUST Library.
Use HKALL to search and request for books in other university libraries in HK. The requested books will
be delivered to the HKUST Library's Circulation Counter (G/F) for you to pick up.
Policies and FAQs about using HKALL.
A union catalog of over 1 billion items in libraries worldwide
4. Electronic Journals
All E-Journals subscribed by the Library, including those in the areas
of chemistry, are available through the
E-Journal
Database.
5. Databases
5.1 Abstracts of Journal Articles, Conference Papers, and Technical
Reports (Linked to the full-text of electronic resources subscribed to by the Library)
Science Citation Index Expanded
(1991-) provides abstracts of articles in over 6,300 journals in science and engineering. The database also
contains the references cited in the articles.
Search
Guide.
SciFinder Scholar (1907-)
provides abstracts of articles in 10,000 journals, as well as conference papers, patents, technical reports,and dissertations in chemistry,
chemical engineering, and biomedicine. It also contains information on 42 million organic and inorganic
substances, and 16 million single- and multi-step reactions. Users can search by author, research topic, molecular formula,
CAS Registry Number, chemical name, structure or reaction etc.
Scopus (1966-) provides abstracts of articles in 12,600 academic journals and 750 conference proceedings,
Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The database also contains the references cited in those articles published from
1996 onwards. Search Guide.
5.2 Abstracts/Full Text of Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses
HKUST Electronic Theses provides abstracts and full-text of HKUST doctoral dissertations
and master's theses.
Dissertations and
Theses Collections (DTC) provides abstracts of doctoral dissertations and master's theses of postgraduate students in the seven universities in Hong Kong. Full-text
is available for HKUST, HKU and Lingnan dissertations and theses.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (1861-)
provides abstracts of doctoral dissertations and master's theses accepted
by over 1,000 universities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Hong Kong, and other regions.
It provides 24-page previews of dissertations/theses published since 1997. Free full-text is only
restricted to business dissertations worldwide and HKUST dissertations. Users can place
online orders using their own credit cards.
5.3 Full Text of Patents
中华人民共和国国家知识产权局专利数据库
provides abstracts and full-text of Chinese patents.
Esp@cenet
is maintained by the European Patent Office. It provides
abstracts and full-text of patents worldwide.
USPTO Web Patent
Databases are maintained by the US Patent and Trademark Office.
The databases provide abstracts and full-text of US patents.
5.4 Dictionaries (Compounds), Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Combined Chemical Dictionary covers over 500,000 compounds
in Champion and Hall's dictionaries of analytical reagents, inorganic and organometallic
compounds, natural products, organic compounds, and pharmacological agents. Information provided for
each compound includes its systematic and common names; structure diagrams;
chemical, physical and biological properties; and literature references.
The database supports searching by chemical structure.
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry
provides step-by-step laboratory procedures for the synthesis, modification, purification,
analysis, and utilization of nucleic acids. It includes everything from the basic
fundamentals of lab work to the most cutting-edge methods. All protocols have been
contributed by leading investigators in the field
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
covers the fundamental principles, theories, and methodologies of nanoscience and
nanotechnology as well as their applications in materials and surface science, mechanical,
optical, and electrical engineering, computer technology, chemistry, biomedicine, and many
other areas.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science &
Technology provides the full-text of over 500 articles covering all areas of polymer science, such as
polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization, etc.
Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data
is maintained by Arizona State University's Noble Science and Engineering Library. This site lists
properties alphabetically and cites sources of the data. Most sources listed are reference books in the collection
of the Noble Library, a few are chemical compound databases on the Web.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
provides the full-text of over 1,000 articles covering all areas of chemical technology.
Knovel provides the full-text of thousands of handbooks across the engineering and science
subjects.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial
Chemistry provides the full-text of over 1,000 articles covering all areas of industrial
chemisty.
5.5 Materials Safety Data Banks
Sigma-Aldrich Material Safety Data Sheets contains over 130,000 Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) from the US Sigma-Aldrich chemical company. A MSDS
clearly defines a chemical, giving its composition, identifying any hazardous properties, outlining first-aid treatment in case of accidental body contact, and pointing out special fire fighting
procedures that might be needed. It also contains suggestions for responding to an accidental release of the chemical and for everyday product
handling and storage. (Library Online Systems -> CD-ROM Databases)
CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational
Health and Safety) Databases contain about 120,000 MSDS Data Sheets from North American chemical manufacturers
and suppliers as well as toxicological data on over 140,000 chemical substances.
6. Research Management Tool
RefWorks
is a web-based research management tool that allows users to build personal citation databases and generate
bibliographies in a variety of citation styles: ACS, APA, CBE, MLA, Chicago, amongst others. References can be
imported from text files or selected literature databases or added manually. Users can also create in-text references and
footnotes within MS Word. First-time users are required to sign up for an individual account.
Guide
7. Interlibrary Loan Service
Use this system to search and request for books in other university libraries in HK.
Use this system to submit requests for:
- copies of journal articles not available at HKUST Library. The Library will get them for you from other libraries (local or overseas).
- books not available in HK. The Library will borrow them for you from overseas libraries and charge you HK$120/book.
Policies and FAQs about using HKUST ILLiad
8. Key Printed Reference Tools
8.1 Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
- 化合物词典
- (Reference QD148 .H83 2002)
- 化学化工大辞典 = Dictionary of chemistry and chemical technology
- (Reference QD5 .H84 2003 v.1-v.2)
- 英汉化学词汇 = An English-Chinese bilingual dictionary of chemistry
- (Reference QD5 .Y476 2006)
- 英汉分析化学词汇 = English-Chinese dictionary of analytical chemistry
- (Reference QD71.5 .Y55 2005)
- 英汉・汉英化学化工词汇. 英漢部分 = English-Chinese/Chinese-English dictionary
of chemistry and chemical technology, English-Chinese part
- (Reference QD5 .Y47 2001)
- 英汉・汉英分析化学词汇 = English-Chinese and Chinese-English dictionary
of analytical chemistry
- (Reference QD71.5 .Y56 2000)
- 汉英化学化工科技词汇 = Chinese-English dictionary of chemistry and chemical
technology
- (Reference QD5 .H3525 2001)
- A dictionary of chemistry
- (QD5 .D493 2000)
- Dictionary of colloid and interface science
- (Reference QD549 .S37 2001)
- The Facts on file dictionary of organic chemistry
- (Reference QD246.F33 2004)
- Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary
- (Reference QD5 .C5 2001)
- The Penguin dictionary of chemistry
- (Reference QD5 .P46 2003)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of analytical science v.1-v.10
- (Reference QD71.5 .E53 1995)
- Encyclopedia of chemical processing and design v.1-v.69
- (Reference TP9 .E66)
- Encyclopedia of chemistry
- (Reference QD4 .R57 2005)
- Encyclopedia of industrial chemistry v.A1-A28, vB1-B8
- (Reference TP9 .U57)
- Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry v.1-v.8
- (Reference QD148 .E53 1994)
- Encyclopedia of separation technology v.1-v.2
- (TP156 .S45 E53 1997)
- Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology v.1-v.25
- (Reference TP9 .E685)
- Van Nostrand's encyclopedia of chemistry
- (Reference QD4 .V36 2005)
8.2 Treatises
A treatise is a multi-volume work whose contents have been organized
in a logical classified manner (unlike Encyclopedias which are usually
arranged in alphabetical order) and which covers an entire subject field
or perhaps a whole subdiscipline of chemistry. Treatises frequently include
the word "comprehensive " in the title and usually include detailed bibliographies
which document the primary literature and other sources from which the
information has been gathered.
- Comprehensive coordination chemistry : the synthesis, reactions,
properties & applications of coordination compounds v.1-v.7
- (Reference QD474 .C65 1987)
- Comprehensive coordination chemistry II : from biology to nanotechnology v.1-v.10
- (Reference QD474 .C65 2004)
- Comprehensive heterocyclic chemistry : the structure, reactions, synthesis,
and uses of hetercyclic compounds v.1-v.8
- (Reference QD400 .C65 1984)
- Comprehensive medicinal chemistry v.1-v.6
- (Reference RS402 .C65)
- Comprehensive organic chemistry: the synthesis and reactions of organic
compounds v.1-v.6
- (Reference QD245 .C65 1979)
- Comprehensive organic synthesis: selectivity, strategy & efficiency
in modern organic chemistry v.1-v.9
- (Reference QD 262 .C535 1991)
- Comprehensive organic transformations : a guide to functional group
preparations
- (Reference QD262 .L355 1999)
- Comprehensive organometallic chemistry : the synthesis, reactions, and
structures of organometallic compounds v.1-v.9
- (Reference QD411 .C65 1982)
- Comprehensive organometallic chemistry II: a review of the literature
1982-1994 v.1-v.14
- (Reference QD411 .C652 1995)
- Comprehensive polymer science : the synthesis, characterization, reactions
& applications of polymers v.1-v.7
- (Reference QD381 .C66 1989)
- Fieser and Fieser's reagents for organic synthesis v.8-v.22
- (Reference QD262 .R33)
- Organic syntheses. Collective volume v1.-v.9
- (Reference QD262 .O72)
- Rodd's Chemistry of carbon compounds : a modern comprehensive treatise
(v. 1, pts. A-G; v. 2, pts. A-E; v. 3, pts. A-H; v. 4, pts. A-L; v. 5)
- (Reference QD251 .R6)
- Stereoselective synthesis v.1-v.6
- (Reference QD481 .S764 1995)
8.3 Handbooks, Tables and Data Compilations
- contain data taken
from the primary literature and have been evaluated for accuracy.
- 化学化工物性数据手冊. 有机卷
- (Reference QD65 .H832 2002)
- 化学化工物性数据手冊. 无机卷
- (Reference QD65 .H83 2002)
- CRC handbook of basic tables for chemical analysis
- (Reference QD78 .B78 2003)
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
- (Reference QD65. H3)
- CRC handbook series in inorganic electrochemistry v.2-v.4 ,v.7-v.8
- (Reference QD557 .C73)
- Chemical shift ranges in carbon-13 NMR spectroscopy
- (Reference QD96. N8 B74 1982)
- Desk reference of functional polymers : syntheses and applications
- (Reference QD281.P6 D47 1997)
- The Facts on File chemistry handbook
- (Reference QD65 .F33 2000)
- Handbook of antioxidants : bond dissociation energies, rate constants,
activation energies, and enthalpies of reactions
- (Reference QD281.O9 D45 2000)
- Handbook of data on organic compounds v.1-v.7
- (Reference QD257.7 .H36 1994)
- Handbook of inorganic chemicals
- (Reference QD155.5 .P37 2003)
- Handbook of physical properties of organic chemicals
- (Reference QD257.7 H374 1997)
- Handbook of thermodynamic diagrams v.1-v.4
- (Reference QD504 .Y36 1996)
- Handbook of vapor pressure v.1-v.3
- (QD257.7 .Y39 1994)
- Inorganic materials chemistry desk reference
- (Reference TP200 .S26 2005)
- The Important peak index of the registry of mass spectral data v.1-v.3
- (Reference QC454 .M3 M38 1991)
- International tables for crystallography v.A-v.C, v.F
- (Reference QD908 .I56)
- International tables for X-Ray crystallography v.2 , v.4
- (Reference QD945 .I54 1985)
- Numerical data and functional relationships in science and technology
- "aims to compile all the certain results of physical, chemical, and technological
research, characterized by both the greatest completeness and a critical
attitude."
- Group 1 : Nuclear and particle physics
(Reference (LG410) QC61 .L331)
Group 2 : Atomic and molecular physics
(Reference (LG410) QC61 .L332)
Group 3 : Crystal and solid state physics
(Reference (LG410)QC61 .L333)
Group 4 : Macroscopic and technical properties of matter
(Reference (LG410) QC61 .L334)
Group 5 : Geophysics and space research
(Reference (LG410) QC61 .L335)
Group 6 : Astronomy, astrophysics, and space research
(Reference (LG410) QC61 .L336)
Group 7 : Biophysics
(Reference (LG410) QC61 .L337)
- Perry's standard tables and formulas for chemical engineers
- (Reference QD65.S584 2003)
- Phase diagrams for electronic ceramics I : dielectric Ti, Nb, and Ta oxide systems
- (Reference QD503 .P43 sp v.4)
- Phase diagrams for high Tc superconductors II
- (Reference QD503 .P43 sp v. 2)>
- Phase diagrams for zirconium and zirconia systems
- (Reference QD503 .P43 sp v. 1)
- Phase equilibria diagrams : 1998 cumulative indexes [for] volumes I-XII,
Annuals '91-'93, High Tc monograph I-II, Zirconium and zirconia systems
- (Reference QD503 .P43 index 1998)
- Phase equilibria diagrams : 2003 cumulative index : volumes I-XIII, Annuals '91-'93,
High Tc monographs I-II, zirconium and zirconia systems, electronic ceramics
I
- (Reference QD503.P43 index 2003)
- Phase equilibria diagrams. volume XII, Oxides
-
- (Reference QD503 .P43 v. 12)
- Physical properties of hydrocarbons v.1-v.4
- (QD305 .H5 G28 1984 )
- Table of isotopes
- (Reference QD601.2 .F57 1996 suppl)
- Table of physical and chemical constants
- (Reference QC61 .K3 1995)
- Thermochemical data of pure substances pt.1-pt.2
- (Reference QD511.8 .B369 1989 )
- Thermochemical properties of inorganic substances v.1-v.2
- (QD511.8 .T47 1991)
- Thermodynamic properties of individual substances v.1 -v.3
- (Reference QD504 .T43713 1989)
- VNR index of chemical and physical data
- (Reference QC61 .J36 1992)
- The Wiley/NBS registry of mass spectral data v.1-v.7
- (Reference QC454 .M3 M395 1989)
- The Yaws handbook of physical properties for hydrocarbons and chemicals
: physical properties for more than 41,000 organic and inorganic chemical
compounds : coverage for C1 to C100 organics and Ac to Zr inorganics
- (Reference TP200 .Y39 2005)
8.4 Writing Guides
- 硕士论文写作
- (LB2369 .C44 2001)
- The ACS style guide : effective communication of scientific information
- (Reference QD8.5 .A25 2006)
- The dissertation journey : a practical and comprehensive guide to planning, writing, and defending your dissertation
- (LB1742 .R63 2004)
- Dissertation writing in practice : turning ideas into text
- (LB2369 .C617 2003)
- Enjoy writing your science thesis or dissertation : a step by step guide
to planning and writing dissertations and theses for undergraduate and
graduate science students
- (T11 .H582 1999)
- Form and style : research papers, reports, theses
- (LB2369 .C3 2000)
- Guide to the successful thesis and dissertation : a handbook for students
and faculty
- (LB2369 .M377 2003)
- HKUST
Guidelines on Thesis Preparation (PDF)
-
- How to write a successful science thesis : the concise guide for students
-
- (LB2369 .R87 2006)
- How to write a thesis
- (LB2369 .M87 2006)
- Proposals that work : a guide for planning dissertations and grant
proposals
- (Q180.55.P7 L63 2007)
- Revising your dissertation: advice from leading editors
- (E-Resources LB2369 .R49 2004)
- Surviving your dissertation : a comprehensive guide to content and process
- (LB2369 .R83 2007)
- Writing the winning thesis or dissertation : a step-by-step guide
- (LB2369 .G56 2005)