E-books
The Library provides access to tens of thousands of e-books. Search the Library Catalog Subset below, which covers ALL e-books, including regular books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, reference tools, standards, audio books, etc.
Login to the following individual e-book collections if you want to use their unique browse and
search features.
Resources (show|hide descriptions)
ACM Portal to Computing Literature (1985-)
Is a service offered by the Association for Computing Machinery. It is composed of the ACM Guide and the ACM Digital Library. The Guide provides over 400,000 citations and abstracts to the worldwide English language computing literature. Sources include books, journals, proceedings, theses, and reports. The Digital Library provides the full images of journals, magazines, transactions, and conference proceedings published by ACM since its founding in 1947.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering
Blackwell Reference Online
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to about 300 volumes of reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Reference Tools
Books24x7
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to about 12,000 e-books in four collections: BusinessPro, FinancePro, EngineeringPro and ITPro. Accompanying tables can be downloaded in excel format for further manipulation. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows bookmarking of pages with annotations.
Additional Categories: Business and Management
Ebrary
[Fulltext]
Contains 4,400 ebooks from leading publishers in a wide variety of subject areas. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported. Users have to install a plug-in program once. During each session, users can print up to 20 pages per book, subject to a maximum of 40 pages.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Emerald Business, Management & Economics eBook Series Collection (Trial access till Dec 2009)
[Fulltext]
This collection includes 400 volumes in 65 series with new content added each year. Featuring titles from the highly regarded JAI imprint, the collection covers subjects such as strategy, accounting and finance, organizational studies and economics. The books are available in both html and PDF formats, and can be cross searched with Emerald journals.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Emerald Social Sciences eBook Series Collection (Trial access till Dec 2009)
[Fulltext]
This collection contains over 180 volumes across 37 series titles, giving access to contemporary research in diverse areas such as education, sociology, politics and linguistics.
The titles included feature some of the most notable authors in their field, such as Austin Sarat, Paul Maginn, Geoffrey Walford and Thomas Scruggs. The books are available in both html and PDF formats, and can be cross searched with Emerald journals.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
ENGnetBASE
[Fulltext]
Provides access and cross-file searching to over 700 engineering handbooks published by CRC Press. Users can either browse the table of contents of each individual handbook, or use keyword searching to retrieve and display related full-text information.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Express Exec.com
[Fulltext]
Consists of 12 modules, containing 1,200 individual chapters on the current management concepts and principle aspects of global business practices. It provides best practice cases, key ideas, action points, glossaries, further readings, e-books and live links to other information sources.
A Wiley Interscience database.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Management of Organizations
Gale Virtual Reference Library
[Fulltext]
Provides a collection of encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, and other reference sources in various disciplines. Each title supports browsing via its table of contents and index. Full-text keyword search can be performed on individual or multiple publications.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
IEEE Xplore
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of over 6,700 periodicals, conference proceedings, as well as standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). It is the online version of IEEE/IEE Electronic Library. Most documents are dated from 1988, but archival documents dated as far back as 1954 are also available. Search Guide
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Science->Science->Physics
Knovel
[Fulltext]
Offers full-text access to over 1,500 titles in 19 handbook collections across the engineering and science subjects. These include: Adhesives, Coating, Sealants & Inks, Aerospace & Radar Technology, Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology, Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering & Construction Materials, Earth Sciences, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, Environment & Environmental Engineering, Food Science, General Engineering and Engineering Management, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Metals & Metallurgy, Oil & Gas Engineering, Plastics & Rubber, Safety & Industrial Hygiene. The database supports browsing by book title as well as full-text searching.
Additional Categories: Engineering->Chemical Engineering, Engineering->Civil Engineering, Engineering->Computer Science and Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Engineering->Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, Engineering->Materials Science, Engineering->Mechanical Engineering, Science->Science->Biology and Biochemistry, Science->Chemistry
Naxos Spoken Word Library
[Fulltext]
Contains about 450 audiobooks giving access to 10,000 tracks of spoken word with music. The collection covers mainly classics in fiction, plays and poetry. Users can follow the text on screen while listening. New titles are added monthly. The database supports browsing and searching.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
NetLibrary
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to 42,000 ebooks in a
wide range of disciplines: business, humanities, social sciences, science and engineering. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows note-taking. The contents of the books can be saved or printed page by page. Users can print up to 15 pages in one session.
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to 26 reference titles published by the Oxford University Press. Most of them are dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities and social science subjects such as art, history, literature and geography.
Additional Categories: Reference Tools
Oxford Reference Online
[Fulltext]
Consists of over 170 dictionaries and other reference works published by the Oxford University Press. In addition to English and bilingual dictionaries, subject coverage includes business and management, engineering, humanities and social sciences, and science. The database allows searching or browsing of all the works simultaneously or one title at a time.
Additional Categories: Alphabetical Listing
Oxford Scholarship Online
[Fulltext]
Contains over 1,800 e-books in a variety of subjects with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Both browsing and full-text keyword searching are supported.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Safari Books Online
[Fulltext]
Complementary to Books24x7, this database provides access to over 300 e-books in various business and information technology-related subjects. Most of them are published by O'Reilly Media and the Pearson Technology Group. The database supports full-text keyword searching and allows emailing of book sections. It also provides links to download the zip files of programming/multimedia examples.
Additional Categories: Business and Management
ScienceDirect (2000-)
[Fulltext]
Provides access to 1,800 full-text journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates, including Academic Press, North-Holland and Pergamon. ScienceDirect has extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine. It also contains many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities. Over 400 e-books published in 2008 are also available. The database supports both full-text searching and browsing by title or broad subject areas.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science->Alphabetical Listing
SourceOECD (1997-)
[Fulltext]
Provides full-text access to 1,200 books, reports, working papers, periodicals, and statistics published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) on its 30 members and other countries. A wide range of subjects are covered, including economics, education, environment, health, energy, industry, science and technology, etc. The database supports browsing and full-text searching. Statistics can be downloaded in excel format.
Additional Categories: Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences
SpringerLink
[Fulltext]
Provides the full images of 1,388 journals published by Springer, Kluwer, and Brill. Subjects covered include not only the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) fields, but also business, humanities and social sciences.
In addition, over 11,000 full-text ebooks published by Springer since 1997 are also available. Full-text access is limited to those titles purchased by the Library.
Additional Categories: Business and Management->Economics, Business and Management->Information and Systems Management, Engineering, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Testing & Education Reference Center
[Fulltext]
Comprises 6 sections: High School Tools, College Prep Tools, Career Tools, Graduate School Tools, International and Family College Planning Center which provide extensive career and education-related information in North America. Some unique resources are Resume Builder, Virtual Career Library (Under Career Tools--> Research Careers), Graduate School Search, Graduate Scholarship Search, and online practice tests and ebooks for TOEFL, GRE, GMAT, LSAT and many other graduate/college entrance examinations. Users need to create an account in TERC to access certain features such as viewing e-books and taking practice tests.
Additional Categories: Business and Management, Engineering, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Electronic Major Reference Works (Wiley eMRWs)
[Fulltext]
Additional Categories: Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences->Social Sciences, Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
Wiley Interscience
[Fulltext]
Provides integrated access to the full-text of over 1,100 journals published by Blackwell Publishing as well as citations and abstracts of hundreds of journals, reference works, and books published by John Wiley & Sons.
Full-text access to Wiley publications is restricted to 450 journals, 380 books and 10 major reference works for which the Library has a subscription.
Additional Categories: Science, Science->Alphabetical Listing
last modified 21-Nov-2009
© HKUST Library